Journal

Price of Privilege by Jessica Dotta

I have fond memories of my high school literature and writing classes. I can’t remember what class it was said in, but I do remember a teacher mentioning that the best books are the ones that evoke a strong emotion whether it is laughing or crying. I still remember the first book I nearly threw across the room while I was reading it…Jane Eyre, when some secrets were let out. 

There have been a few books that made me cry, and a few more that have made me laugh. But few that I would become so frustrated with that I wanted to throw the book away from me. Even when we get so angry at the story, there is something there though that promises that it is worth all the hurt and anger in the end. That at the end, things will be made alright and we will understand.

**I received a copy of this book from the the Tyndale Blogging Network in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

Having finally discovered the truth of her birthright, Julia Elliston is determined to outwit Chance Macy at his own game. Holding a secret he’d kill to keep, however, is proving more difficult than she imagined.

Just when Julia thinks she’s managed to untangle herself from Macy’s clutches, he changes tactics with a risky ploy. As the scandal of the century breaks loose, drawing rooms all over London whisper what so far newspapers have not dared to print: Macy’s lost bride is none other than Lord Pierson’s daughter—and one of the most controversial cases of marital law ever seen comes before Victorian courts.

Though Julia knows Macy’s version of events is another masterful manipulation, public opinion is swaying in his favor. Caught in a web of deceit and lies, armed only with a fledgling faith, Julia must face her fiercest trial yet.

“It is no wonder in my case God demanded a crucible. We often fail to recognize our greatest godsend simply because it comes bundled in suffering.”

-Julia Elliston, Price of Privilege

Characters: Where the previous two novels kept the characters a bit clouded as to their trustworthiness to our narrator, this novel allows their true colors to shine a bit more. The development of the characters in these books is astonishing. The main character becomes one with the reader in these novels. I began to really feel her thoughts and concerns, and ultimately her pain through all the suffering she faces in her life through this book.

Storyline: There isn’t too much to say about the storyline of this particular novel, except that it was the perfect climax to this trilogy. While the previous novels have a faster feel to them, this one definitely slows down that tension and builds it to a high intensity in the final pages. It is hard to predict how Julia’s life will turn out as she becomes a societal outcast due to questions about her marriage and who truly is her husband.

My Thoughts:  I am sad to be finished with this series, but I also feel relieved as they aren’t short books and were not easy to put down. As I mentioned, this book is a wonderful finale. There were so many unexpected twists and turns to that final page.

If you haven’t read the previous books, they are absolute MUSTS for this series. The books truly build on one another. To jump right in would leave a reader lost and confused. But the whole series is definitely worth a read.

About the Author:
Jessica Dotta has always been fascinated by the intricacies of society that existed in England from the Regency through the Edwardian era. She writes in a manner that blends past and modern fiction techniques. She lives in the Nashville area and works as a free lance media consultant and publicist. Her first novel Born of Persuasion releases in September of 2013.

8 thoughts on “Price of Privilege by Jessica Dotta

  1. I love it and I can’t wait to find time for this one. Also on a side note, your back story had a strange effect on me this morning. It gave me a sort of peace, or permission, concerning my own work in progress. 🙂 Thank you for that.

    Like

    1. Am I going to want to throw your book across the room when I read it?

      It’s true though, the novels that invoke the strongest reactions are often among our favorites (well, unless we absolutely hate it–but often then, we have to admit that the author did something right). I can definitely remember the books that did this and why they did.

      Like

      1. You’re right…on both accounts. Lol
        I never thought about it before but the books that caused the most frustrations really did hit a mark that I never got over. They went places that I didn’t want but it was worth it in the end.
        I was thinking about it later, it’s the same thing with life. We often feel so frustrated with the pain and trials we face but God promises to make it something beautiful in the end. You’ll never see it at the time.
        And I promise not to be frustrating for frustrating’s sake but to make something worth while in the end. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Often I think of those books never went to that “dark place” they wouldn’t be as good.

        That’s a good correlation to life. If everything was easy, we wouldn’t feel the need for God and we would probably never grow.

        Thanks for promising that!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’m just glad it’s viewed as a “promise” and not a deal breaker. I’ve been very on the fence about it after getting such high praises for WCIF. I wondered if I had the guts to continue the story as planned. That’s where my consultant came into play. She helped me stay the course. At the very least, the first draft will go this way. I’m super eager to see what the reviewers think. I could be forced to change it. But I THINK I can pull it off.

        Like

      4. After we’ve talked about it more, we came to the conclusion that the ending has to be strong enough to cover the tough parts. If you end on a bad note, that’s what the readers will take with them.
        On another note, when I first shared the big twist with someone, I was really on the fence and doubting my own plot. When I told her what I planned I expected that she would try to talk me out of it, and she likely would have succeeded. But I’ll never forget what she said to me. She said, “I love it! Do the hard stuff. It’s gonna be great!” I never looked back…till recently. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

