Journal

Writing on Wednesday (January 14, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

It’s been wonderful to feel like I am making progress on the writing front. While I’m not updating my word count, I am fixing some much needed errors. This week, I’m moving into areas of my story that I will hopefully find the major problem spots. These will be the places where in February, I’ll be moving that word count up and hopefully near completion for a rough (very rough) first draft.

My Writing Goals for the Month of January:

Read through my WIP. Fix any major problems, look for plot holes, discover missing scenes, continue plotting.

How have I been doing?

Since the beginning of the month, I’ve done very well with taking time to sit down and focus on a read-through of the novel. There are a few immediate areas that I have rewritten when the inspiration struck. But otherwise, it has been fixing things for consistency or grammar/typos for readability. I’ve actually enjoyed it. It’s hard to keep that inner editor locked away and let me enjoy the beginnings of this novel but it has also been a great experience. I’m making great progress to being done with this task by the end of the month or even sooner than planned.

Writing Reflections:

ice-patterns-jack-frost1

Lately it has been on my mind how important tension is to story, and how quickly details can make a story less exciting. There is a fine balance between telling your reader every little thing that a character does and sharing just enough to pass on some information. Mundane details just aren’t important. There are a number of novels that I’ve read in the past months that I’ve put down because they become tedious to read. Even the life of a treasure hunter or sniper can become boring if we experience every meal, shower, or mile moved. But then the life of an office employee can be exciting when we hone in on those details that don’t jive that makes them think their boss might be embezzling. That sip of coffee could become a nervous tick or a way to give themselves time to answer a question. But that bagel they ate this morning on the way to work? Not as relevant.

As I’ve been reading through my own work, I’m putting on a focus of looking for those details. The ones that just don’t add to the story, and in fact make it boring.

What are your writing goals for the month?

4 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (January 14, 2015)

Leave a Reply

