Book Review · Journal

Brentwood’s Ward by Michelle Griep

When I start a new novel, I tend to be drawn to something quite different from the one I read before. If the previous novel was a love story a suspense might be the follow-up. I just visited the Antebellum South, I’ll pick up a contemporary. The exception to this is books in a series or a novel by the same author.

Well, the book, or books rather, that I read before this one was the Price of Privilege series by Jessica Dotta. Once I finished those, I just wasn’t ready to leave Regency England (by the way, reviews on my blog do not necessarily show up in the order that I read the books). Michelle Griep offered a style that was quite different from the series I had just finished, but I enjoyed them all the same. It made for a wonderful extended stay.

**I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and Barbour Publishing in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

 

Place an unpolished lawman named Nicholas Brentwood as guardian over a spoiled, pompous beauty named Emily Payne and what do you get? More trouble than Brentwood bargains for. She is determined to find a husband this season. He just wants the large fee her father will pay him to help his ailing sister. After a series of dire mishaps, both their desires are thwarted, but each discovers that no matter what, God is in charge.

“No one escapes this life without scars, Miss Payne. Not even God.”

-Nicholas Brentwood, Brentwood’s Ward

Characters: The two characters in this novel are certainly a wonderful example of opposites attract–they just don’t know it! From their first meeting until nearly the end, the two are constantly butting heads on one thing or another, and both eventually finding themselves fighting an attraction as well.

Storyline: For a novel, this book has a number of things going on. Each of the main characters have their own separate stories, and then they both become involved in something a bit more sinister. All the while, there are a few minor characters who have their own things going on. It sounds a bit confusing, but with so much happening, this book is fast paced and action packed.

My Thoughts:  I absolutely loved this book! It started out a bit light-hearted and bordering on comical. But the story also had quite a bit of depth to it. There is a strong Christian theme about having faith that God is in control. The characters have a lot to learn in this novel, and it was enjoyable watching them receive their lessons.

About the Author:
I hear voices. Loud. Incessant. And very real. Which basically gives me two options: choke back massive amounts of Prozac or write fiction. I chose the latter. Way cheaper. I’ve been writing since I discovered blank wall space and Crayolas. I seek to glorify God in all that I write…except for that graffiti phase I went through as a teenager. Oops. Did I say that out loud?

2 thoughts on “Brentwood’s Ward by Michelle Griep

Leave a Reply

