Journal

Writing on Wednesday (January 21, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

We had hardly any snow in December. January has seen plenty of snow, ice, and cold. And by cold, I mean dipping below 0 and hovering just above 0. After a “warmer” December, I think I’m starting to feel the effects of cabin fever. It’s just not any fun to go outside at all. I’m struggling with feeling motivated to make progress on this read-through, but I am slowly moving along on it.

My Writing Goals for the Month of January:

Read through my WIP. Fix any major problems, look for plot holes, discover missing scenes, continue plotting.

How have I been doing?

I’m past about the 1/3 mark on the read through. Some scenes are a bit more time consuming to fix up then others. The good news is that I have seen my word count slowly inch up a little bit more. That helps me to feel a bit better about my slow pace.

Writing Reflections:

FutureSelfQuote

Looking to the future can be a strange thing. It is easy to dream of where we would like to be in so many years, but the work that it takes to get there doesn’t often come into the vision.

Since high school, I have wanted to be a writer. It is probably what I always answered for the question “What is your dream job?” But of course, it was never practical. Somehow, though, I now find myself in a position where it is possible. The thing holding me back is finishing a novel.

Lately, motivation has been a struggle. Fixing little errors in my rougher-than-rough rough draft just isn’t showing me as much progress as watching that word meter climb. It’s hard to feel like I am getting closer to the finish line. The best thing to do though, is just remember that every little thing is one small step (or maybe inch) closer to crossing the finish line. So whatever I can do today, will bring me that much closer.

What are your writing goals for the month?

2 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (January 21, 2015)

  1. I like what you said about when we dream of our future or our goals we rarely imagine the hardships along the way. That’s very true and I never thought about it before.

    You know I’m rooting for you!! I have a soft spot for lumber camps.

    I have several scenes already laid out that don’t fit chronologically in the novel, at least not yet. I’ve been slowly building the scenes around them and filling in those gaps. I’m close to meeting up with my 1st hovering scene and that was my goal for the week to meet up to that chapter chronologically. I’m really close to meeting this goal. It’s exciting. Kinda like earning a free space on a game board or something. Lol I wrote the scene weeks ago but I’ll get to skip it soon and that always feels like catching a little break. It’s like the work of the past isn’t felt anymore. I bet that will be comforting to you as you muddle through this portion. One day, you’ll not feel this pain. 🙂 Trust me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

