Journal

Romancing Your Better Half by Rick Johnson

I’ve mentioned on my blog previously that my husband and I enjoy reading marriage books. Unfortunately, after reading enough of them, there isn’t a whole lot of “new” information to be found in them. We do find the occasional new approach. But one benefit, is that we are constantly having to think about our marriage and how to keep improving it and moving God more into the center. Because we have a shelf of these marriage books, it’s always nice when an opportunity comes up to review a new book and add it to the shelf.

**I received a copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

 

If you’ve been married more than a few years, you probably know how it goes. You start out in the throes of passionate romance only to have the fire cool over the years–especially when kids come along or life gets too busy. But keeping the romance alive is easier than most people think. Now the author of Becoming Your Spouse’s Better Half shares the secrets of pursuing romance that won’t quit.

With wit and wisdom, Rick Johnson shows you how to communicate effectively with your spouse, recapture the feeling of young love, incorporate romance and intimacy into everyday life, understand each other’s unique sexual needs, and more. The useful insights and solid advice in this practical book will strengthen your marriage now and into the future.

Pros:  I found this book to be quite practical in it’s content. All throughout the book there are boxes of actual ideas on how to implement what Johnson is discussing in a particular chapter. Information in the books is also backed up by studies and surveys.

Each section of the book ends with some “Intimacy-Building Tips.” The tips are practical and easy things to do. Sometimes it might suggest a simple extra effort to do something for your spouse and others involve some internal reflection.

Johnson’s writing is also quite conversational. Through the book, we get to know him and his wife a bit, and the information is revealed in a laid back fashion. It makes the book quite easy to read, and quick as well, especially considering the book is at the 200 page mark.

Cons: As a female reading this book, I often felt like I picked up the wrong book. I felt that the author was definitely talking more to men than women, even though he does reference things for both spouses. There are times where he would single out that a particular section was more just for the men for example. But it was something that did linger in the back of my mind while reading it. Then again, this could just be me.

My Thoughts:  While for myself personally, there wasn’t too much “new” information presented, I really liked the format of this book. It is one that I am sure I will come back to again. Especially with it’s shorter length and straightforward content.

About the Author:
Rick Johnson is a bestselling author of Becoming Your Spouse’s Better Half, How to Talk So Your Husband Will Listen, That’s My Son, Becoming the Dad Your Daughter Needs, and Better Dads, Stronger Sons. He is the founder of Better Dads and is a sought-after speaker at many large parenting and marriage conferences across the United States and Canada. Rick, his wife, Suzanne, and their grown children live in Oregon.

2 thoughts on “Romancing Your Better Half by Rick Johnson

  1. Great review! I sympathize with you in your observation that there’s not much new in most marriage books. As I was typing that sentence, I realized that this should be reassuring to us, right? Just maybe we’re on the right track?

    Like

Leave a Reply

