Book Review

Stealing From God by Frank Turek

Whenever the question “where do we come from” is brought up, everyone in the room will probably take one of two sides, that of intelligent design or that of the Big Bang Theory. Both sides do take a certain amount of faith, and perhaps that is why they are so conflicting. Science has yet to prove one way or the other 100%. For Christians, we believe in the Bible, and there we can find the answers to where we came from. We can be confident in that. But it is hard to prove a book to someone when they don’t believe in who authored it.

Stealing from God really captured my attention as a book worth adding to my bookshelf. Learning more about the Atheism vs. Christianity debate is important in a world where the previously mentioned question comes up frequently. It helps to know information to help support an argument.

**I received a copy of this book from The Tyndale Blogging Network in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**


If you think atheists have reason, evidence, and science on their side, think again! Award-winning author Dr. Frank Turek (I Don’t Have Enough Faith to be an Atheist) will show you how atheists steal reason, evidence, science, and other arguments from God in trying to make their case for atheism. If that sounds contradictory, it’s because it is! Atheists can’t make their case without appealing to realities only theism can explain. In an engaging and memorable way, Stealing from God exposes these intellectual crimes atheists are committing and then provides four powerful reasons for why Christianity is true.

Pros: This book approaches the topic of the arguments that atheists make from a variety of directions. Everything from science, to morality, to logical reasoning. Turek also starts out by being quite detailed on what sort of God he is defending, so there can be no mistake there.

The book also included a number of “real-world” examples–conversations he has had with atheists or quotes from various other debates. There are also quotes taken from journals or interviews. The books is packed with information.

Cons: I did find the book a bit difficult to read at times. Especially the first chapter or two dealing with causality and reason. Some of it might be that the material was pretty new to me (I am definitely not an expert on logic). There were sections where I found myself reading and rereading to make sure I was following what Turek was saying.

My Thoughts:  This book will definitely find a home on my bookshelf. It is bursting with information and well thought out arguments. I highly recommend this book to anyone who often seeks out these kinds of debates or are interesting in learning how to defend the Christian faith.

About the Author:
Dr. Frank Turek is a dynamic speaker and award-winning author or coauthor of four books: “I Don’t have Enough Faith to be an Atheist,” “Stealing From God: Why Atheists Need God to Make Their Case,” “Correct, Not Politically Correct” and “Legislating Morality.” As the President of CrossExamined.org, Frank impacts young and old alike at colleges, high schools and churches with hard yet entertaining evidence for Christianity.

5 thoughts on “Stealing From God by Frank Turek

  1. You’ve been working your way through some non-fiction lately. I just cannot get myself motivated to read non-fiction. I wish I could be better about that. I think maybe I need to just work at it. Good review!

    Mary

    Like

    1. Non-Fiction doesn’t happen too often. I struggle with it but try to do it now and then if something captures my interest. There are good things to be learned from them!

      Best thing is just to find something that sounds interesting. I often find that one of the benefits of non fiction is that I can just read a chapter and set it down for awhile.

      Like

Leave a Reply

