Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (January 28, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

This week has been a bit bittersweet. It’s seen a bit of frustration, but it has also seen some breakthrough that has lead to hope.

My Writing Goals for the Month of January:

Read through my WIP. Fix any major problems, look for plot holes, discover missing scenes, continue plotting.

How have I been doing?

Reading through has been frustrating. I’ve mentioned that I learned a lesson from my dictation software: Always read through it right away before saving it.

But, there was a breakthrough this past week. I learned that I don’t have one plot that is bigger than the others. Rather I have three plots that are all vying for attention. I’ve been working on stepping back and focusing on which one is supposed to be the major storyline–which one needs to have the support of the other two. I know which one needs to stand out, but it is a matter of figuring out how to get the other two into their supporting roles and letting this one shine. I’m sure I will be saying goodbye to some scenes, but there will be new ones to take their place.

Writing Reflections:

WhedonQuote

In light of this past week, I’m learning one of the hard lessons: letting go. One of my storylines probably will be disappearing from my novel. The story is just too similar to the one that is the main one–the one that has the lessons that I would want to impart to a reader. The one that will have the emotional connection. The one that I’m letting go of will only distract from that. The characters will remain, and there may be hints of it remaining.

It hurts to put time and effort into something only to know that it needs to be cut out. But it is necessary for the benefit of the whole.

What are your writing goals for the month?

6 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (January 28, 2015)

  1. What a good idea. I bore my friends on an internet forum with updates. Also have a circle of friends who prod each other at regular intervals to check we’re “getting on with it” (writing that is). I’m with you on the pains of letting go. I’ve just finished the first draft of my novel and there are a few good scenes that just don’t fit and will have to go. What doesn’t kill us makes us stronger or some such nonsense. I look forward to more Wednesday updates.

    Like

  2. Such an important thing to remember re: supporting storylines! I love the idea of a minor storyline (the one that’s too similar to the major emotionally-connecting one) echoing the main storyline. Goals for the next month for me include publishing my children’s book, lots of editing, and starting the first draft of my next novel. Thanks for keeping going with these Writing on Wednesdays! 🙂

    Like

  3. A wise friend once told me that you have to know when you kill your darlings. It hurts to let go and I sympathize with you. I’ve had to cut one of my story lines recently too. I’ve also been forced to cut important historical facts because they didn’t fit or took away from the shining star. It may hurt right now to kill your darlings, but that pain only lasts for a moment. In the end, when you see the strong and sturdy story that came out of it, you’ll never regret those tough decisions.
    😉 Don’t forget to save what you cut out. You’ll never know when you’ll have a chance to use it either in a new story or simply share it as a deleted scene/story line.

    Like

Leave a Reply

