Journal

January Wrap-Up

JanuaryWrapUp

As a reader, January has treated me pretty well. As a writer, it’s been an okay month. Either way, here in Michigan there has been plenty of snow and cold temperatures which is perfect for staying in and curling up with a book or sitting down and letting my imagination go.

What I Have Read: Clicking on the following links will take you to my review.

It is hard to select favorites when I read so many good books this month. I know I loved Jessica Dotta’s Price of Privilege series. The books offer the complexity that makes trilogies who follow the main character so enjoyable, but yet each story definitely was it’s own episode. I found each one extremely difficult to put down and I’m glad I waited until I could read them all at once. It would have been so hard to wait for the next book in the series!

Like a Flower in Bloom was a book I was impressed by. When you read quite a few books it is easy to come across a story that “feels” like another one. Maybe a situation is similar or the plot follows the same trend, but Siri Mitchell’s latest release felt quite fresh to me. The heroine was so interesting and the plot had some interesting tweaks to the typical girl looking for a husband story.

I certainly can’t ignore the wonderful Elizabeth Camden, either. Beyond All Dreams was a beautiful story in a fascinating setting–the Library of Congress. Plus, the nation is on the brink of WWI which only adds tension to this story. Both the hero and heroine are fun characters and have some of the best bantering I’ve read in awhile. Like most of Camden’s books, I adored this one, and it might be a new favorite (although I think I say that about all of her new books).

Finally, I’m glad I made some time to read Joanne Bischof’s novella, This Quiet Sky. If you haven’t yet read her Cadence of Grace series, I highly recommend it. This novella, while it can be read as a standalone story, is a sort of prelude to the series of books starting with Be Still My Soul. This novella was on my mind a lot for a couple of days after reading it’s poignant story. It’s a story that will wrap itself around your heart.

What I Am Looking Forward To:

There are so many wonderful books being released this year that I’m excited for (you can check out my whole list for the year HERE). But I already have a few on my docket to read in February.

The Last Heiress by Mary Ellis is one that I am looking forward to. The book promises to have a number of problems for the hero and heroine to come across and the Civil War is the backdrop to the novel. I’ve enjoyed Ellis’s previous Civil War era novels, so I have high hopes for this one.

I enjoy collections of novellas. Often they have a nice mixture of favorite authors as well as ones that are new or at least new to me. The Homestead Brides Collection is a new collection of 9 short stories all about some pioneering couples. Most of the authors in this collection are new to me so I’m excited to see what stories will be told within the pages of this book.

Finally, on a not so new note, I will be reading Miralee Ferrell’s Love Blossoms in Oregon series, three novels and a novella. I’ve had a couple of the books on my kindle for awhile now and recently picked up the novella for free. So when the third book was a review option for me, it seemed like a great excuse to read this series I’ve been meaning to for awhile.

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site, I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I regularly send out tweets for new Blog Reviews and the occasional giveaway either on my blog or on another blog.

What I Wrote:

My plan for January was to work on reading through my novel, at least what I have written so far (about 50%), and work on identifying some of the problem areas in the story and figure out what scenes had been missing. Well, towards the end of the month, I identified a problem. A big problem… I moved quite far away from having a major storyline and instead, I have three small storylines fighting for attention. So, I will be backing up a bit further and will be taking some time to examine what the main story needs to be and figure out the scenes to support that. I am not planning on completely removing the other storylines, but rather put them in the supportive positions that they need to be in.

While I feel like I took two steps back instead of moving forward this month, I know that it will be for the best for the novel in the future. I’m hopeful that I will soon be at a point where I am adding scenes a bit more actively.

Leave a Reply

