Journal

Writing on Wednesday (February 11, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

It is hard to be believe that we are nearing halfway through the month of February. So many times the months seem to go by quickly, but with a couple less days than most, February seems like it is over before it begins.

The month has seen a number of busy days that has made it a struggle to make the time to get the reading in that I want to do and even harder for the writing. Often, when I sit down to write, I need to take a bit to clear my mind and to wander back into the Michigan woods where my story unfolds. Lately, my mind has been consumed with furniture shopping (by the way, it’s hard!). Writing is on the back burner but some progress is being made, though it is tiny steps. But there is a plan, and while I have to keep pushing back my self-imposed deadlines, I still intend to meet them, at least some day.

Yesterday, I had the chance to venture out to the lakeshore and it was a cold wonderful visit. My car said it was sixteen degrees, but the sun was shining and there was very little breeze. The beach is beautiful in the summertime, but there is something about seeing winter overtake the beach that is mesmerizing. Lake Michigan

My Writing Goals for the Month of February:

I identified three different spots that need some work with new scenes, so those need to be developed and then written.

How have I been doing?

One of those three spots has a skeletal version of a plan. Most of them have at the very least the purpose of a scene that will fill in a particular spot. Sometimes, that’s all I need. The flow of the story or the characters will tell me what comes next. I’m anxious to spend some time plotting out those other two areas to allow me to start dedicating more time to putting words on the page.

Writing Reflections:

Greene!

 

Writing is never a solo journey. I’ve learned over the past year how much it helps to have someone to talk with about the ups and downs of it. But beyond that, there are also the characters. Many times, to the writer, the characters begin to feel just as alive as the other people living in our homes. The only difference being that well, we are the only ones who feel their existence (at least until the pages of our story are in the hands of another person).

But there is something exciting when the characters start to guide their own story. When they help to inform what happens next. That is when the story becomes more than just words on a page. That is when the story develops a heart and will make another person care about the existence of a handful of fictional people. I’ve been fortunate to find a few of those moments in my own writing, and as I continue to plot and move back into writing, I’m excited to experience that some more times. It is those kinds of moments where I can find glimmers of excitement when the writing doesn’t come easily–because in those moments are when I often find the characters ready to start telling their own story.

What are your writing goals for the month?

3 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (February 11, 2015)

  1. I LOVE the quote today!! It’s very fitting for me and the new twist I’ve taken just today in my series. Can I borrow your beautiful picture? It’s the perfect ice breaker to share on my page later this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

