Journal

Writing on Wednesday (February 25, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

As I mentioned last week, this week and throughout March, I plan to handle these writing on Wednesday posts a bit differently. This week, I want to share with you all some writing websites and such that I have found to be incredibly helpful.

One of the first sites that I frequent quite a bit is the Writers Digest website. You really can find just about anything you could possibly need to find tips on here. There are prompts, tips on craft, character development, and even the occasional “fun” article. TheWriteLife.com is another website full of general writing information–including blogging and social media tips.

Personally though, author Jody Hedlund’s website is one of my favorites. In part because she is one of the best in my opinion, but also because she is successful and often doles out good advice. She has a page on her website that is dedicated to other writers. On it you can find links to her writing related pinterest boards and a variety of articles and blog posts that Hedlund has written on the topic of writing.

If you are looking at developing your characters, there are some helpful tools for that as well. Searching for a name? There are all sorts of naming generators available. This one allows you to search for names by gender, origin and date (although back to popular names in the 1880’s). Another way to help you start character development is to understand a core personality for your character. You can easily take any myriad of personality tests pretending to be your character. Another alternative is to look at the personality types associated with the Myers-Briggs test and find what best matches your character. Knowing this might help you understand how he or she will react in various situations.

Perhaps your novel is running a bit flat in the tension department. There is a handy list of 41 ways to add tension to your novel at Ian Irvine’s website.

If you are looking for some encouragement on writing, this is a website that posts daily writerly quotes.

There really are a plethora of information out there. Personally, I Iove the way I can easily find help about something on the internet. If I’m interested in trying out a new plotting method or looking for something to help me further develop my characters it is nice to find suggestions on a blog and read some of the conversation about something. On the other hand, it does not replace a good book on writing. Next week, I’ll be reviewing one of my favorite writing books that handles character development.

 

What other websites do you keep handy for writing reference?

2 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (February 25, 2015)

Leave a Reply

