Journal

February Wrap-Up

 

FebruaryWrapUpThis month, we have been having the perfect reading weather–well, if you enjoy staying inside to read. We’ve been close to the zero degree mark more days than I like and plenty of ice and snow to discourage going out. That also means I have done a decent amount of reading.

What I Have Read: Clicking on the following links will take you to my review.

First of all, of of my highlights this month was certainly reading Miralee Ferrel’s Love Blossoms in Oregon series. I enjoyed this series immensely, and each book seemed to get better than the last. This was my first time (I think) that I have read any of her novels. Hopefully someday, I will get around to reading some of her other ones since I enjoyed these so much.

Widow of Gettysburg blew me away. While the book was a bit graphic about some of the horrors of war, I really loved the honesty with which Jocelyn Green approached this story. The characters were wonderful, each of them caught in their own difficult situations. But the book was grounded in so much faith and it’s theme about finding our identity was perfect, especially for the heroine. This is one of those books that will stick with me for awhile.

It’s always fun to find new authors, and Joanie Bruce was a new one for me. Her suspense novels were, well, suspenseful. They were filled with tension and the stakes were raised with every page. There were plenty of unexpected moments throughout. She has two books out currently, Alana Candler, Marked for Murder and A Memory Worth Dying For. Both were excellent and both are ones that I would highly recommend.

Finally, Michael K. Reynolds In Golden Splendor is probably my favorite for the month. His Heirs of Ireland, which In Golden Splendor is book two, is beautifully written and tells a poignant story. I loved getting to know the main character a bit more and watch him grow in faith. If you enjoyed historical fiction that spans years and sticks with a family, this is a wonderful series that I can’t recommend enough!

What I Am Looking Forward To:

The heirs of Ireland series will be finally coming to an end for me this month. Songs of the Shenandoah has been on my shelf for awhile now. I’ve enjoyed the books so much I’ve forced myself to spread them out so I can look forward to the story and savor it. This book has a beautiful cover and I’m anxious to see how the rest of the story unfolds for the Hanley family on the brink of the Civil War.

I had hoped to read and review The Homestead Brides Collection this month, but it will be popping up in the early part of March. I’ve read some of the stories already, and I’m loving this collection. These are some well written novellas–but that is all I will say for now.
Last but not least (and it will actually be the first March review) is Deadly Echoes by Nancy Mehl. The book is the second one in the Finding Sanctuary series. The first book of the series was my very first review on this blog, so when the opportunity for this one came up, it was one that I could not resist.

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site, I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I regularly send out tweets for new Blog Reviews and the occasional giveaway either on my blog or on another blog.

What I Wrote:

February has been a time where I have done some plotting. I’ve worked through outlining a few of the areas that need a bit more character development, tension, etc. I still have some more to move through, but at least through March, writing will be moved a bit lower on the priority list.

I still have every hope to work at it a bit and hopefully in April I will be in a position to really start writing again. However, I have a huge project currently that I am focusing a larger amount of my time and attention on. So, both the reading and writing won’t be happening quite as much.

Through March, there will be a couple of changes on the blog. Since I won’t be having quite as much time for reading, I’m only going to be posting two review a week- Monday and Friday. Instead of the normal “Writing on Wednesday” blog posts, those days will be focused on some writing resources that I have found to be helpful. It will predominantly be writing books, but I’ll also be sharing a couple of websites and I hope to also include some encouraging quotes along the way.

4 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up

    1. Widow of Gettysburg was a bit tough in places, but the book as a whole was great. The Heirs of Ireland series is such a beautifully written saga. I love series that span so many decades, and it seems rare to find them in Christian fiction, so I’m thrilled over this one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

