Book Review

The Outlaw Takes a Bride by Susan Page Davis

Historical fiction offers a whole host of settings and situations that just aren’t as common today. One of my favorites is the mail-order bride story. There is just something about two strangers committed to making a relationship work that makes the story so poignant and compelling. Unfortunately, read enough stories about a mail-order bride and there starts to be a few similarities. I was excited when I heard about this book coming out this year. The storyline definitely has a different spin to it.

**I received a copy of this book from Barbour Publishing and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

Johnny Paynter flees Denver to escape being hanged for a murder he didn’t commit. At his brother’s ranch in Texas, where he thought he could take refuge, he finds his brother, Mark—dead. Taking advantage of his strong resemblance to his brother, Johnny assumes Mark’s identity. Soon Johnny discovers that Mark had been corresponding with a widow named Sally in St. Louis, and she’s en route to be a mail-order bride to Mark. Seeing no other option, Johnny makes a fateful decision to go through with the wedding, posing as his brother. But Sally has secrets she’s hiding, too. How will a marriage survive with so much deception?

 

Characters: These characters were the perfect fit for this story. I quickly grew to like Johnny and Sally and really felt for each of them for the situation they were in. Both characters had personalities that were portrayed very consistently with their actions and were quite believable as well.

Storyline: I love a good mail-order bride story and this one had such an interesting twist to it! From the beginning scenes I was hooked and had to know what would happen next for Johnny. The story certainly flowed quite nicely.

My Thoughts:  I adored this book! It was such a unique take on a mail-order bride story and the characters were wonderful to get to know. There was everything from tense moments to sweet moments in the story. It had the perfect blend of making me want to see everything turn out just right but feeling like it was an impossibility for it to happen. This is a book I would highly recommend.

About the Author:
Susan Page Davis writes romantic suspense, historical romance, and mystery. She is a Maine native now living in Kentucky, and a member of the American Christian Fiction Writers. Her books have won several awards including the Carol Award for her novel The Prisoners Wife; the Inspirational Readers’ Choice Award for The Prisoner’s Wife and The Lumberjack’s Lady (Maine Brides series); and the 2012 Will Rogers Medallion Award for her novel Captive Trail (Texas Trails series).

2 thoughts on “The Outlaw Takes a Bride by Susan Page Davis

  1. I can’t wait to read this one!! That is the prettiest cover I’ve seen in a long time! I think it’s the letter in the back ground that does it for me. 😉 Not sure why it took me so long to make the connection. Lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

