Book Review · Journal

March Wrap-Up

 

file0001474165156
Going into March, I knew it was going to be a busy month. Because of that, I did a couple of different things on my blog. First, I cut back on the number of book reviews I posted. There were enough other things that were pulling my attention away from book reviews, that it needed to be done. Second, I knew I wouldn’t have much writing time during the month, so rather than my typical Writing on Wednesday posts, I focused the month on sharing some of my favorite writing resources.

While I may not have read as much, I still read some wonderful books that I was excited to share with you.

What I Have Read: Clicking on the following links will take you to my reviews.

There were some real gems in the selection of books I read this month. One of my absolute favorites was The Wood’s Edge by Lori Benton. First of all, her settings usually feel quite unique to me, and this one is not an exception. Set on the brink of the Revolutionary War this novel explores some deep themes and shares some fascinating history. It’s the first book of a series and I’m quite bummed that I will have to wait a whole year to pick up the story again.

Another novel by Michael K. Reynolds has made it to my list of favorites for the month. Songs of the Shenandoah was a fantastic finale to his Heirs of Ireland series. This is a series that I don’t think I can recommend enough. The books have everything from beautifully written prose, to authentic characters, and a gripping plot.

There aren’t too many contemporary fiction novels that make it to my favorite lists, but Saving Justice was a wonderful surprise for me. I really struggled to put this story down. The characters had a lot of internal wounds that needed healing and the book itself was just inspiring. I adored this debut novel by Susan Crawford and can’t wait to see what she has for us next.

Finally, The latest novel by Susan Page Davis, The Outlaw Takes a Wife,  was a wonderful read. It was quite the twist to the typical mail order bride story and I found myself immersed into the story quite quickly. The story was fascinating and the characters so likeable. I was sad when I reached that final page because I had enjoyed it so much.

What I Am Looking Forward To:

Usually the end of a month is quite exciting for me. Books are arriving in my mailbox and e-mails with digital copies are popping up. This has been quite true for me currently. Here are a few of the books I am most excited to read and review in the next month or so:

The Sparrow in Terezin by Kristi Cambron has been a novel I’ve been anticipating for quite some time now. Cambron’s debut novel, The Butterfly and the Violin was a heartbreakingly beautiful story. I absolutely adored every page of it. The novel had two storylines, one historical and the other contemporary. The Sparrow of Terzin brings a new historical story but continues on the contemporary one and I can’t wait to read all about it.

Irene Hannon is a fantastic writer of novels that keep you up all night–or at least they do for me since I really struggle to put her books down. Buried Secrets is her newest novel and the first book of her new Men of Valor series. I can’t wait to read the mystery that she has in store with this book.

There has been quite a bit of buzz surrounding two new releases by Melissa Tagg. The first has been on a novella titled Three Little Words (which is currently free on Amazon). The novella appears to be a prelude to her latest novel, From the Start. Both stories sound fun, romantic, and like beautiful stories. I can’t wait to pick these ones up.

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site, I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I will be regularly send out tweets for new Blog Reviews and the occasional giveaway either on my blog or on another blog.

What I Wrote:

March did not see a whole lot of writing, but I knew it wouldn’t. Sometimes a person needs to assess their life and line up their priorities. This time, writing needed to take a backseat. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t do anything.

You may have noticed that a new writing tracker showed up on the sidebar this month. I’m temporarily putting aside the manuscript for Joy Comes in the Morning. Not because I don’t have intentions of finishing it, but because I’m starting to feel quite stuck in it. The plot doesn’t seem to be moving forward and my characters are staying silent. However, within that silence, I started to hear the voices of some old friends.

A couple of years ago, I started a novel that ended up being a bit closer to novella length. I pulled it out, read over it and excitement for the story was reignited. I’ve done a bit of work on it, rearranged some scenes, and brainstormed some new ones. The story is called Second Chances and perhaps someday I’ll share a bit more with you.

Leave a Reply

