Journal

Writing on Wednesday (April 1, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

It’s been a wonderful break break from blogging about writing in March. While the month was busy, I still had enough time to make some decisions. One of which is to change gears a bit and work on developing a story that I had written years ago. I’m hoping to bring some more life to it and hopefully develop it into a novel length work.

My Writing Goals for the Month of April:

In March, I have worked on looking at the story and figuring out some of the current problems with it. One of the biggest was the timeline and pacing of the story. Doing some rearranging of scenes will help with that. I’ve worked through that and put it into a new timeline. I am now at a stage where some pieces will need to be rewritten to reflect their place in the story. New scenes also need to be brainstormed to help fill the story out a bit more. The current outline is around 34 scenes, and I have brainstormed about 10 more additional ones in March. Ideally, I would like to get as close to 80 scenes or more.

By the end of the month, I would like to:

  • Have the outline nearly completed
  • Add an addition 10,000 words to the manuscript

Writing Reflections:

Alcott1

There is something exciting about starting a “new” project for me. I remember being so discouraged when I first decided to finally put this project down a couple of years ago. But blowing the dust off of it is encouraging. It has taken some thought to finally make the decision to do so, but with that has come some new excitement. I’m still a bit disappointed to put another story down for awhile, but perhaps with enough time, I can rekindle some new thoughts towards it and approach it once again with new ideas.

What are your writing goals for the month?

4 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (April 1, 2015)

  1. My writing goals are handed to me by Scrivener which plots out how much I need to write each day based on total word count and date of completion. Right now it’s about 668 words per day to be finished with the RD by May 9th.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

