Journal

The Creole Princess by Beth White

I’m always surprised when I struggle with a book. It doesn’t happen very often. I’ve learned enough about my tastes that I can usually pick out a book I will like. Even so, there are occasions where a book will sound like one I will enjoy and as I read I struggle to stick with it. Unfortunately, this was the situation I found myself in with Beth White’s latest novel, The Creole Princess.

**I received a copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

Torn between loyalties to family and flag, one young woman is about to discover that her most important allegiance is to her heart.

It is 1776, and all along the eastern seaboard the American struggle for independence rages. But in the British-held southern port of Mobile, Alabama, the conflict brewing is much quieter–though no less deadly. 

Lyse Lanier may be largely French in heritage, but she spends most of her time in the company of the ebullient daughter of the British commander of Mobile. When a charming young Spanish merchant docks in town, Lyse is immediately struck by his easy wit and flair for the dramatic. But is he truly who he makes himself out to be? Spies abound, and Spain has yet to choose a side in the American conflict. Is Lyse simply an easy mark for Rafael Gonzalez to exploit? Or are his overtures of love as genuine as Spanish gold? 

With spectacular detail that brings the cultural gumbo of the Colonial Gulf Coast alive, Beth White invites you to step into a world of intrigue and espionage from a little-known slice of the American Revolutionary War. 

It isn’t often that I struggle to finish a book. But for some reason, The Creole Princess was one that I struggled with. I wanted to enjoy it, I truly did, but every time I picked it up I found myself ready to put it back down or to trade it for another book.

One of my biggest complaints was probably the characters. Many of them just didn’t come alive for me. They felt too fake and too unrelatable. Lyse comes across alright, especially as we learn some of her family history, but Rafa just felt over the top and in fact, the more I learned about Lyse, the less I saw those two as a likely romantic pairing.

As for the plot, I’m not really sure when that was going to pick up. There are plenty of hints to something, but nothing actually happens. Most of the interest and excitement comes from Lyse’s family history and a bit from the romance between Lyse and Rafa. Even those few hints that we were offered began to feel repetitive. Often Rafa talks about “listening for information” but I don’t feel like we really see it. 

This is a book that I may be willing to pick up again later. For myself, I know that if I’m just not in the mood for something in particular I just might not get interested in it. I’m hoping that turns out to be the case for this book. Maybe with some time, if I pick it up again, I will have more interest in it–because the synopsis truly makes this sound like a wonderful story.

 

About the Author:
Beth White teaches music at an inner-city high school in historic Mobile, Alabama. Her hobbies include playing flute and pennywhistle and painting, but her real passion is writing historical romance with a Southern drawl.

A native Mississippian, she is a pastor’s wife, mother of two, and grandmother of two–so far.

Also published as Elizabeth White, her novels have won the American Christian Fiction Writers Carol Award, the RT Book Club Reviewers Choice Award, and the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award.

9 thoughts on “The Creole Princess by Beth White

    1. It is such a pretty cover! I really did want to like this book. Especially since it is a sequel, and I did like the first one. I’m determined to pick it up again down the road, maybe I will enjoy it more than or be more in the mood for it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It doesn’t happen very often, but I know that every once in awhile I won’t enjoy a book if I’m just not in the mood for that genre or era of history or something. I’m hoping that was part of the problem with this book.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, I have also found sometimes it’s like I’m not supposed to read a book until a certain time. I can struggle and struggle, and then when I finally do manage to read it I get so much out of it because of certain things that are happening in my life

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I liked the book and didn’t have a problem finishing it, but it sounds as though you and I had the same issue: too many characters with too many stories, which meant not really getting deep enough into the hero and heroine.

    Like

    1. I read the first book of this series, and I liked it when a lot of others didn’t. I keep hearing so many positive reviews for this one and I just couldn’t get into it. I’m hoping if I pick it up again later it will be better.

      But that did seem to be the major flaw that I picked up on in the book.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved The Pelican Bride! I’ll admit, this one didn’t quite measure up, but I’ll still be looking forward to the third in the series. Hopefully, it will wow! me like the first one. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

