Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (April 15, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

I am surprised sometimes at the things that can hinder or distract me from writing. Sometimes my schedule is just busy, sometimes there are other things that feel more important, sometimes my body is physically telling me it needs rest. Lately, I feel like one of these things is always happening. This past week I’ve been dealing with the latest cold bug that’s been going around. I’ve worked on my WIP a couple of times this week in spite of it and hoping to keep working on it even more as I am starting to feel better overall.

My Writing Goals for the Month of April:

By the end of the month, I would like to:

  • Have the outline nearly completed
  • Add an addition 10,000 words to the manuscript

How have I been doing?

It has been slow going this past week. This nasty cold has been a hinders to staying focused enough to make major progress. However, I have written a new scene, which added about 900 words to my WIP and I have a handful of ideas to add to my outline. Whether it is as much progress as I would like to see or not, it is still forward motion.

Writing Reflections:

I enjoy it when I find a blog post that intersects writing with beliefs. This is a blog post that I came across this week and I loved the purpose of it–figuring out what God thinks of my writing. While this is directed towards writers, I think the questions could be modified to fit nearly any situation we find ourselves in. So this week, I would like to share this post with you.

What Does God Think of Your Writing?

What are your writing goals for the month?

3 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (April 15, 2015)

  1. When William Carey was asked what his “secret” was to his great success as a missionary, he replied, “I can plod.” Sometimes, it’s simply plodding, like you’re doing, even tiny steps at a time, that gets us forward! 🙂 Writing with a cold isn’t fun.

    I’m a bit behind schedule right now with my own writing. Spring seems to have more events than any other season! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

