Journal

Writing on Wednesday (April 22, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

I’ve had a lot of hopes to make some great headway on writing this week. Unfortunately, I have not been able to focus as much as I had hoped. I still made a bit of progress, even if it is little steps. It is still further than where I was a week ago.

My Writing Goals for the Month of April:

By the end of the month, I would like to:

  • Have the outline nearly completed
  • Add an addition 10,000 words to the manuscript

How have I been doing?

This week, I added scenes that I brainstormed to my outline and came up with a rough idea of how each scene would go. I also started writing a scene (it’s handwritten, so I don’t have a word count update for it). To meet my goal for the month, I need to be focused this week on getting the additional scenes needed added to the outline and spend some time writing. Hopefully I can find some motivation and focus.

Writing Reflections:

It seems that lately I have been coming across a number of articles that have some great information or thoughts in them. This week is the same. The blog for Bethany House Fiction often has some wonderful posts on it. This past week, they ran an interview with one of their editors about what publishing houses might look for in a new author. While I’m still a long ways from looking for an agent or publishing house, it is in my plans for when I’m ready for it. I found this interview extremely helpful and thought I would share it with all of you as well. (Don’t worry if you are interested in self-publishing–there are some all around good insights and tips about writing in general in the interview.)

What are your writing goals for the month?

Leave a Reply

