Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (April 29, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

The weather is slowly starting to warm up for the summer here, and this girl is looking forward to writing time on the deck. Unfortunately, that time also has to be balanced with the kind of projects that warmer weather tends to bring around. I’m starting to think about what my goals will be for May. Since there are a couple of days left this month, I’m really hoping to finish off the outline.  My focus in May can then be more towards meeting a daily word count goal.

My Writing Goals for the Month of April:

By the end of the month, I would like to:

  • Have the outline nearly completed
  • Add an addition 10,000 words to the manuscript

How have I been doing?

Over this past week, I have managed to make some pretty good progress. I added about 3,000 words to my manuscript and enough scenes to get me pretty close to being about 2/3 done with my outline. With only a couple of days left in April, I’m feeling a bit skeptical as to whether I will actually hit my goals or not but I am very optimistic about the progress that has been made overall. The scenes are helping to fill in lacking relationships between characters and a couple of the subplots. They are also filling in a section of scenes that was previously nonexistent. Now, if I can get that word count up, I’ll start to feel like this novel might see completion for the rough draft in the near future.

Writing Reflections:

Faulkner 3

While this week has had days that were very productive and some that weren’t as much, a friend reminded me that what is important is progress. I find that it is easy to become discouraged when I look back at the goals that I’ve missed–and it is easier to be discouraged by that than it is to be encouraged by the ones that I did make. There are so many quotes by authors out there that point to the fact that all it takes is just one more word. It is the act of writing that brings progress, and that is more important than being a writer. It is also more effective to getting a novel written.

What are your writing goals for the month?

2 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (April 29, 2015)

  1. “It is the act of writing that brings progress…it is also more effective to getting a novel written.” I really like that!
    Always celebrate the progress, no matter how small. Some days are harder than others. Be careful not to fall into the trap of high fiving your 3,000 words days and neglecting your 200 words days. Your 200 word days deserve a cookie too. Possibly even more so since it was hard for you to sit down and work that day. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

