Journal

Chance of Loving You

Anthologies always offer the opportunity to sample new authors–and that is one of my favorite things about reading them. In this case, while I didn’t necessarily love this collection, Each other had things about their writing that I did really enjoy and made them authors that I will probably keep my eye out for more books by them.

**I received a copy of this book from Tyndale Blog Network in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**


An anthology by three bestselling romance authors

For Love of Money by Terri Blackstock Trying to launch her own design firm while waitressing on the side, Julie Sheffield was drawn to the kind man she waited on at the restaurant last night . . . until he stiffed her on the tip by leaving her half of a sweepstakes ticket.

The Recipe by Candace Calvert Hospital dietary assistant Aimee Curran is determined to win the Vegan Valentine Bake-Off to prove she’s finally found her calling. But while caring for one of her patients―the elderly grandmother of a handsome CSI photographer―Aimee begins to question where she belongs.

Hook, Line & Sinker by Susan May Warren Grad student Abigail Cushman has agreed to enter the annual Deep Haven fishing contest. She’s a quick learner, even if she doesn’t know the difference between a bass and a trout. But nothing could prepare her for competing against the handsome charmer she’s tried to forget since grief tore them apart.

One chance for each woman to change her life . . . but will love be the real prize?

 

For Love of Money by Terri Blackstock

I loved this story when it started… then I became a bit bored with it. The concept of this story was fantastic–two people who are bit down on their luck split a ticket that ends up being a winning ticket. The two immediately feel a connection (before they are winners). But then I felt the love story aspect of the novella felt too rushed and there was so much about hoarding money or recklessly spending money. It was a short story, so I did read it all, but I wish some of the essence of the first couple of pages would have been carried throughout the whole story.

The Recipe by Candice Calvert

This story was adorable–and with a cast of secondary characters that were just as fantastic as the leading man and lady. I found this tale of finding your path in life to be wonderful. Both characters had to learn a hard lesson in this story, and there was a sweet love story as well. This was definitely my favorite story in this anthology. I loved the unique elements of it and the well-developed characters.

Hook, Line & Sinker by Susan May Warren

I’ve been wanting to read something by Susan May Warren for quite some time. While this novella wasn’t quite everything I expected, it did make me interested in reading more from this author. In fact, I mainly just wish there was more to this than just this short novella. The story felt a bit rushed for the amount of pages. This was a story that felt like some of the backstory would have helped make me feel for the characters and be connected to them more than what I did.

Leave a Reply

