Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (May 12, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

Has anyone else noticed how busy this time of year seems to be? It seems like everytime I turn around, something new is getting added to the calendar. I love the busyness, but I don’t enjoy how hard it seems to carve out time for the reading and writing I want to do. My hope is that after this week, things will remain as calm as our calendar is making them look.

My Writing Goals for the Month of May:

By the end of the month, I would like to:

  • Add an additional 10,000 words to the manuscript

How have I been doing?

Life has been so busy this past week or so. I eeked out about 500 more words that were added. I have time today that I am hoping to get some more writing done. Those 500 words made up about half of a scene and I would like to get it finished today. The rest of this week will be looking pretty busy and I’m not counting on getting too much writing time in (we’ll be having a yard sale…and those eat up quite a bit of time). But, next week is looking pretty open. Hopefully Michigan will decide to warm up and have some sunny days and I can get some writing in on the deck.

Writing Reflections:

I have yet another article I would love to share with you. This was something that I came across today and it felt very timely. One of the areas that I think is lacking in my current WIP is tension. There are always ways to add it, but sometimes it is hard to know what exactly to add. I loved this article’s approach to 6 ways to add tension. Each of those ways can be implemented in a dozen or more other ways, but I really appreciated this simple approach.

6 Ways to Add Tension

What are your writing goals for the month?

Leave a Reply

