Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (May 20, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

This week has been busy, but I’ve been productive on the writing front. I’ve been working on my novel in various ways, but there will be more about that in a moment. This week, I have spent a lot of time in a particular writing book–Conflict and Suspense by James Scott Bell. This book is so full of helpful tips and such. It has been great to spend time learning while I’ve been writing as well. I’m planning to post a review of this book and talk more about what I’ve learned from it in next week’s post–so be on the lookout for that.

My Writing Goals for the Month of May:

By the end of the month, I would like to:

  • Add an additional 10,000 words to the manuscript

How have I been doing?

Last week, I added about 500 words all while having a very busy week. This one has been quite busy as well, but I still managed to add nearly 1,000 more. I’m still quite a ways from reaching my goal, but I still have a few days left in the month to grow the word count. Every little bit brings me a bit closer.

I’ve also been starting to read over the first third of the manuscript so far. Since I’m growing what was essentially a novella into a novel, there are some things that have changed. So I am reading to make sure things are flowing the way they should, make sure details are consistent, and also just making sure that the new scenes that are getting added in really are adding to the story and helping it develop more completely.

Writing Reflections:

Normally, I share a quote with a graphic and share how I relate to it. Between the progress I’ve made in my own writing and all of the great writing related stuff I have read this week, I’ve struggled to find a direction to go. So, I’m sharing a variety of quotes about writing. Some are funny, some are poignant, but they are all great reminders.

“If you can write each day, do it, and meet a quota. Minimum 350 words a day. A baboon can do 350 words a day. Don’t be shown up by a baboon.” James Scott Bell

“It takes courage to violate expectations, but sometimes the reward is a new level of success.” Donald Maass

“A book, too, can be a star, a living fire to lighten the darkness, leading out into the expanding universe.” Madeleine L’Engle

“There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.” Ernest Hemingway

“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.” Stephen King

“Write like you’re in love. Edit like you’re in charge.” James Scott Bell

“Don’t give people what they want, give them what they need.” Joss Whedon

“I am irritated by my own writing. I am like a violinist whose ear is true, but whose fingers refuse to reproduce precisely the sound he hears within.” Gustav Flaubert

“…there would be punishment and pain, and there would be happiness, too. That was writing.” Markus Zusak

 

 

What are your writing goals for the month?

2 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (May 20, 2015)

  1. Lol Don’t be shown up by a baboon! Lol I love it!

    I also really like his other quote, “Write like you’re in love. Edit like you’re in charge.”

    And I can relate to Gustav’s troubles. 🙂 I often feel the same way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

