Book Review · Journal

May Wrap-Up

May has been a wonderful month for reading. We’ve either had gorgeous days where the only thing I wanted to do was read out on the deck or the days were so cold that all that sounded good was snuggling up with a blanket and reading. Thankfully, I’ve had some wonderful books on my shelf to read this month.

What I Have Read: Clicking on the following links will take you to my reviews.

Sometimes it is hard to pick my favorites in a month. This is one of those months. I read plenty of wonderful books.

Tamera Alexander’s book is one that I’ve been waiting for. Waiting a long time. I’m glad to say that the book was well-worth the wait. I loved the story that unfolded with the backdrop of horse racing and a land recovering from the Civil War. The love story was deep and complex which made for a wonderful novel.

Until the Harvest was a great book. Sarah Loudin Thomas has such a distinctive way of telling a story and I love it! Many of the same characters in Miracle In A Dry Season show up in this book, although they are quite a bit older as this book follows the second generation. I adored getting to know these characters and watching their lives unfold.

It isn’t often that I get to read multiple books by the same author in a month. But Varina Deman’s novels Jaded and Justified were fantastic. Both novels are tough in their subject matter but fulfilling in the lessons and themes that they offer. I’m eagerly waiting for her next book of this series.

What I Am Looking Forward To:

In May, I read Five Days in Skye. For June, I’m excited to read Carla Laureano’s second novel of the series, London Tides. Carla’s novel was such a pleasant story and I can’t wait to see what this book will hold within it’s pages.

I’m definitely ready to start incorporating some wonderful summer reads in my reading diet. Christine Johnson’s novel, Love’s Rescue, should be just the thing as the book is set in the Florida Keys. It also appears that it will have a great love story.

Finally, Married ’til Monday by Denise Hunter sounds like an interesting book. The book follows characters that are divorced–something that I haven’t noticed much of in the realm of Christian fiction. I’m quite interested to see how this story goes and I expect it will be a great read.

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site, I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I will be regularly send out tweets for new Blog Reviews and the occasional giveaway either on my blog or on another blog.

What I Wrote:

While I didn’t reach my goal of 10,000 words this month, I did add a couple thousand words overall. I also read through part of the story and I am quite pleased with it overall. There was also some valuable time spent learning about writing through studying a book on writing. I’ve yet to determine a goal for June, but should have something in mind by Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

