Journal

Writing on Wednesday (June 3, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

My apologies first of all for missing a post last week. With the holiday, I felt off all week. Anyone else have that problem sometimes? Anyways… May was not quite as productive as I had hoped. My goal was to write 10,000 words, but I eeked out about 2,000. My focus is just to get into a healthy writing habit of approximately 500 words a day. So, I’m looking at doing something similar in June. Minus a handful of days since my husband and I have some plans this coming week that won’t leave much time for writing. I have decided to lower the goal to 6,000 words–again, with the intention being more of creating a habit.

Writing Reflections:

Occasionally, articles show up just when I’m thinking about something or it’s a reminder I need. That happened this morning. I was thinking about a book that left a strong emotional impact on me. It was a powerful story and I was trying to figure out why it had that effect on me. If I compared myself to the two lead females in the story, I had very little in common with them. They lived somewhere totally different than I do. So why did I relate so much?

This article showed up today and it resonated with me in regards to this book I read. It offers some wonderful truths about how we can add this emotional impact in our stories and why it works. It also talks about how we misunderstand what emotion in writing looks like.

Third Level Emotions

What are your writing goals for the month?

Leave a Reply

