Journal

Writing on Wednesday (June 10, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

It’s been a couple of busy weeks, and that means I haven’t had a whole lot of writing time. In previous weeks, I have commented on reading a book that I have found to be incredibly helpful and engaging. It’s James Scott Bell’s Conflict & Suspense.

Ramp up the tension and keep your readers hooked! Inside you’ll find everything you need to know to spice up your story, move your plot forward, and keep your readers turning pages. Expert thriller author and writing instructor James Scott Bell shows you how to craft scenes, create characters, and develop storylines that harness conflict and suspense to carry your story from the first word to the last.

Learn from examples of successful novels and movies as you transform your work from ho-hum to high-tension.

  • Pack the beginning, middle, and end of your book with the right amount of conflict.
  • Tap into the suspenseful power of each character’s inner conflict.
  • Build conflict into your story’s point of view.
  • Balance subplots, flashbacks, and backstory to keep your story moving forward.
  • Maximize the tension in your characters’ dialogue.
  • Amp up the suspense when you revise.

Conflict & Suspense offers proven techniques that help you craft fiction your readers won’t be able to put down

There are a number of things that I found incredibly helpful from this book. Starting with the fact that I don’t think I realized all of the ways to add or increase tension in my stories. Everything from dialogue to the setting. Scene descriptions or even just the point of view can add to the tension in a story. Bell does a wonderful job of detailing the benefits of adding in a bit of conflict. He also provides helpful “action steps” that are easy to apply to a work in progress or even as a task to do alongside the book to try out a technique.

This is the second book of Bell’s I have read in relation to learning more about writing. He’s an author that I’m impressed with and have found to be so helpful. I like forward to checking out more from him in the future.

Leave a Reply

