Book Review

Desperate Measures by Sandra Orchard

Sandra Orchard’s Port Aster Secrets is a complex mystery spanning three books. Desperate Measures is the third book of the series. The three novels are filled with smaller mysteries that all play a role in a large story that covers the span of the three books.

I have previously reviewed Deadly Devotion and Blind Trust, the first two books of the Port Aster Secrets series.

**I received a copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

Researcher Kate Adams has finally pinpointed the medicinal plant responsible for tearing her family apart. She’s certain that discovering its secrets is her only hope of solving the mystery surrounding the disappearance of her father. Kate will risk anything to find the truth–even her budding relationship with Detective Tom Parker. But more people than she can fathom are after the plants and going it alone just might prove to be a fatal mistake.


Award-winning author Sandra Orchard pulls out all the stops in this breakneck and breathtaking conclusion to the Port Aster series. Fans will not be disappointed by the surprises they find inside.

“Isn’t it funny how often what we think we want isn’t what we really wanted at all, but only how we’d imagined we’d attain our true hearts desire.”

-Desperate Measures

This novel took some time for me to get interested in. It has been a few months since I read the first two books of the series. And, if you haven’t read those books, you’ll need to before you pick this one up. I had forgotten enough of the two books that I struggled with the beginning of this one. But slowly, things started to click into place and I found myself enjoying this conclusion to the series.
The characters in this book are wonderfully developed. Many of the secondary characters were a challenge to decide if they were trustworthy or not. There were quite a few of them, and that made the story hard to keep track of at times. Also, there were many references about situations involving the characters from the previous two books.

I did find myself trying to puzzle out the mystery and decide who were the good guys and who were the bad guys. Because the story was so complex, it was hard to decide for sure and there were certainly some interesting twists to who certain characters really were. Thankfully, there are some conversations towards the end of the book that help to clear up who did what and why.

I wish I had read all three of these books in order. By not doing so, I fear that I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I otherwise would have. It was good, but I’m not certain it will be a series that stands out to me in the future.

About the Author:
Sandra Orchard is a multi-award-winning author of mysteries and romantic suspense with Revell Publishing and Harlequin’s Love Inspired Suspense imprint. She is an active member of American Christian Fiction Writers, Romance Writers of America and The Word Guild (Canada). A mother of three grown children, she lives in Niagara, Canada with her real-life-hero husband and writes full time…when not doting on her young grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

