Book Review · Journal

June Wrap-Up

June Wrap-Up

This has been a busy month. I don’t feel as if I have been reading as quickly, but I still amanged to read enough to get all of my Monday and Friday reveiws up as I had planned. It also feel like it has been so much more than a month since I read Denise Hunter’s Married ’til Monday which is the first book I reviewed this month. Where has the time been going?

What I Have Read: Clicking on the following links will take you to my reviews.

Looking over what I did read this month, I am finding it hard to highlight my favorites. But alas, I must. This month, I read some novels by some of my favorite authors, which makes it even more difficult to choose favorites.

Karen Witemeyer’s latest novel is absolutely fabulous. Her characters in A Worthy Pursuit were so well developed. Even the narration fit each one. The story was hard to walk away from. I found A Worthy Pursuit to be a most worthy read this month. If you haven’t picked it up yet, you probably should.

As far as I can recall, Married ’til Monday is the first novel I’ve read by Denise Hunter. I have every intention of picking up another in the future. I loved this sweet story that surprised me with how much I adored it. The premise was intriguing and the story heart touching.

Last year, I read my first novel by Katie Ganshert. This year, I had been looking forward to reading another. I’ll confess I didn’t even know what the book was about until I got it in the mail. And I loved every heartbreaking moment about her latest, Art of Losing Yourself. There was something just so poignant about this story that offers reflections of hope through shards of brokenness.

What I Am Looking Forward To:
Last year, I read the first novel of Lyn Cote’s latest series, Quaker Brides. Honor blew me away with the characters, and I’ve been anxiously awaiting the second novel of this series, Blessing.

I love a good novella collection and I love stories about marriages of conveniences. Combine those two things, and I am one very happy reader. The Convenient Bride Collection is on my must-read list this month and I am so looking forward to the tales within the pages of this book.

Another novella collection that I’m waiting to read is Among the Fair Magnolias. I have yet to read a novella written by the wonderful Tamera Alexander–so that is certainly a major reason why I can’t wait for this book.

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site, I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I will be regularly send out tweets for new Blog Reviews and the occasional giveaway either on my blog or on another blog.

What I Wrote:

I set out to write a minimum of 6,000 words this month and I’ve managed to reach that and a little bit extra. I was certainly blessed on the days that I sat down to write. I knocked out scenes that I had been putting off writing and am so happy with the progress that I’ve made. It makes me feel so encouraged about the sort of progress I hope to see in July.

3 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

