Journal

Writing on Wednesday (July 1, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

Wow! Is it Wednesday, already? Where has this week gone?

It has been a crazy weekend around here. My father-in-law was over on Saturday and Monday to work with my husband on expanding our deck. Because of that, my husband took a couple of days off of work this week, so now I’m feeling a little bit off on what day it is.

If you didn’t catch my June Wrap-Up post, I met my goal of writing 6,000 words in June. I’m thrilled about that. But also, according to my outline, I’m very close to having all of my scenes written. I know there are a couple of “problem” spots in the story that still need to be worked through, but I plan to tackle those on my read through of it. But I have 12 scenes left to write. Only 12. And since it is my birthday this month, I’ve decided to give myself a birthday gift–a completed first draft. My birthday is on the 12, so as long as I write a minimum of a scene a day, I should be able to meet that quite easily.

My Writing Goals for the Month of July:

By the end of the month, I would like to:

  • By July 12: Finish writing the final 12 scenes of my rough draft.

Writing Reflections:

Usually I’ve been posting what I’ve found to be some incredibly helpful articles that I’ve found around in this area. I plan to continue that today. I think it was last week sometime, this brilliant article about how to deal with the numerous distractions we as writers face popped up in my inbox. I thought it was fantastic (and quite funny!). So, here I will share it with all of you:

The Complete List of Creative Distractions and Defenses Against Them

 

What are your writing goals for the month?

Leave a Reply

