Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (July 8, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

One week ago, I made a goal. The goal was to finish writing the final scenes of my rough draft by July 12. That day I wrote the rest of my draft. It was addicting crossing the scenes off as I wrote them. I’d write a scene, wander off and get something done, then come back and write another.

I took a couple days off, and now this week I have been working on plotting. The story I just finished a rough draft of is the second of a series. After a lot of consideration, I am setting that draft down for awhile. I won’t be picking it back up until I have this new story, which is the first of the series, plotted.

As of now, I have a terrific start to my plotting. I’m nearly done with coming up with the key scenes of the story. Next, I’ll be turning my attention to developing the characters and getting to know them. Following that will be formally outlining the story. It’s a big process, but I’ve learned that the more thought I can put into my outline and planning stages, the easier it is for me to get words on paper. I thrive with organization.

My Writing Goals for the Month of July:

By the end of the month, I would like to:

  • By July 12: Finish writing the final 12 scenes of my rough draft.
  • By July 15: Have my character sketches completed.
  • By July 22: Have an outline in place.

Writing Reflections:

This seemed to be a timely post for me as I see spending some time revisioning in my future. It’s hard to decide what to cut sometimes, especially considering how much time goes into a manuscript, but it is often the cutting that makes it better. It leads to tighter prose, more engaging description, and a less boring and more exciting work. This article offers a handful of areas that often need to be cut down on in drafts. It serves as a wonderful reminder.

Revising Your Manuscript: Cutting the Fat

 

What are your writing goals for the month?

4 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (July 8, 2015)

  1. Congrats again on meeting that major goal!! I hope the rest of your month goes smoothly.
    Are you enjoying the change in gears from writing to plotting?
    I’m editing all month. It’s hard to say what my goals are. Lol Hopefully to be further along this trail than I am today. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

