Journal

Blessing by Lyn Cote

Last year, one of my favorite protagonists was Samuel Cathwell from Lyn Cote’s novel, Honor. Cote’s portrayal of the deaf Quaker astonished me. I felt so connected to this character that I had so little in common with. Other characters in the book were also amazingly well-written. This book was out of the realm of fiction that I normally read. I tend to not be quite as interested in Amish or Quaker fiction, but something about Honor drew me in and I’m so glad it did. I’ve been anxiously awaiting the sequel, Blessing, which follows the story of the Cathwell’s daughter, Blessing Brightman.

You can find my review of Honor by Lyn Cote HERE.

**I received a copy of this book from The Tyndal Blogging Network in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**


An impetuous love swept Blessing Brightman away from the Quaker community, into the highest ranks of Cincinnati society. But behind the glitter of ballroom and parlor, her spirit slowly eroded in an increasingly dangerous marriage. Widowed young, determined never to lose her independence again, Blessing reclaimed her faith and vowed to use her influence to fight for women’s rights and abolition.

Gerard Ramsay, scion of a wealthy Boston family, arrives in Cincinnati hoping to escape his father’s clutches with a strategy that will gain him independence. His plan is soon complicated, however, by the enchanting widow. Never before has a woman spoken as if she’s his equal—or challenged him to consider the lives of others.

In a city nearly ablaze with racial tensions quickly dividing the country, can two people worlds apart possibly find common ground?

“How can I not care when so many suffer?”

-Blessing Brightman, Blessing

 

After reading Honor about a year ago, I had been really looking forward to this second novel of Lyn Cote’s Quaker Brides series. To be honest, I did not enjoy this book to the same degree that I enjoyed Honor. I just was never quite as captured by the main characters as I was with Honor. But, overall, I did still enjoy it.

One of the things that I most appreciated about this novel was the setting. This is a book where the setting nearly becomes a character. There are fascinating details about the history of Cincinnati that come to life in this story. Everything from prostitution to race relations. It is in this background that we see Blessing try to be a blessing to the world and society in which she lives, and through interesting circumstances, have access to.

Amidst a blend of corruption and hope, this love story unfolds. While the first half of the novel was hard to continue reading (I often felt the story was slow) the second half picks up and moves much more quickly.

This book can be read as a standalone novel, though some characters from the previous book of this series, Honor, do make appearances.

About the Author:
In 1997, Lyn Cote’s first book, Never Alone, was chosen for the “new” Love Inspired romance line. Since then, Lyn has had over thirty-five novels published. In 2006 Lyn’s book, Chloe, was a finalist for the RITA, and her book Her Patchwork Family was a finalist for the Carol Award in 2010 and Her Healing Ways won in 2011. These are two of the highest awards in the romance genre.

Lyn’s brand “Strong Women, Brave Stories,” always includes three elements: a strong heroine who is a passionate participant in her times, authentic historical detail and a multicultural cast of characters. Lyn also features stories of strong women both from real life and true to life fiction on her blog http://BooksbyLynCote.com

Lyn also can be found on Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads. Drop by and “friend or follow” her. Now living her dream of writing books at her lake cottage in northern Wisconsin, Lyn hopes her books show the power of divine as well as human love.

One thought on “Blessing by Lyn Cote

Leave a Reply

