Journal

Writing on Wednesday (July 15, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

 

This summer seems to be moving so quickly. I’ve made good progress on the beginning of stages on plotting this new novel, but perhaps I have not made progress as quickly as I like. Last week, I set out new goals since my original goal was met for the month. I’m keeping my new goals, but I’m changing the dates by a week.

It is taking me a bit longer to make the progress on this story that I had initially hoped for. I work best within an organized framework, and while I’m planning this novel, I’m also creating that same structure that I can use over and over again for future projects. I also want to be able to update this same framework in the future as I learn new thechniques or learn more about my own process. Unfortunately, this takes a lot of time away from when I could be actively working on this new story. But the good news is, I only need to do it once.

My Writing Goals for the Month of July:

By the end of the month, I would like to:

  • By July 12: Finish writing the final 12 scenes of my rough draft.
  • By July 15 July 22: Have my character sketches completed.
  • By July 22 July 29: Have an outline in place.

Writing Reflections:

There are so many benefits to writing and often, we don’t think of what they are unless we are, well, a writer. I’m horrible about getting into and sticking with habits, but someday, I hope to have and maintain a habit of journaling. That’s the type of writing this artcile focuses on, but I think it is still relevant.

3 Ways Writing Will Improve Your Life Even If You’re Not A Writer

 

What are your writing goals for the month?

4 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (July 15, 2015)

  1. How do you manage to have the rough first draft finished without having an outline in place? I wouldn’t know where I’m going without a rough outline!
    It looks like you’re making good progress, so keep going! 🙂

    Like

    1. Actually, I would have no clue either! 😉

      I just recently finished a rough draft this month. The outline and character sketches are for my next project. I tried to write without an outline (okay, I couldn’t do it, I had to at least know the next few scenes I had coming up) and I struggled. I tend to write with very detailed outlines. They take a lot of time to come up with, but I find they make the actual writing part so much smoother.

      Like

      1. I agree, knowing what’s next, even if only roughly, helps a lot! When I wrote my first (terrible) book I had no idea where I was going and I was stuck a lot. This time I know what happens and when, so everything is running much more smoothly. I envy you for doing character sketches. I can’t draw at all but want to sketch them to show my readers, but I know they’d never do my characters justice (or look like people, for that matter).

        Like

      2. I’ve thought about drawing my characters, but haven’t done that yet. By sketch, I’m referencing doing an in-depth study of who they are. I start with creating a personality profile for them and then move outwards to the way they act, talk, dress, etc. Within all of that, is also their backstory and their inner character journey.

        I find searching out images online is helpful to find a picture of someone who closely resembles one of the characters. Having that visual representation handy helps with keeping descriptions and such consistent in your writing.

        Like

Leave a Reply

