Journal

Writing on Wednesday (July 22, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

I can’t believe that we are two thirds of the way through the month. Stores are beginning to stock up on all of their back to school supplies and have sales (which I’m not complaining about since I use a plethora of binders, notebooks, and pens).

In other news, I signed up to attend my first writer’s conference in early October. I’ve been trying to decide whether to go or not for the past few weeks and finally decided to sign up while I could still get the early bird price. Once I did it, I find that I’m very excited about it and can hardly wait!

 

My Writing Goals for the Month of July:

By the end of the month, I would like to:

  • By July 12: Finish writing the final 12 scenes of my rough draft.
  • By July 15 July 22: Have my character sketches completed for a new story.
  • By July 22 July 29: Have an outline for a new novel in place.

How am I doing?

Well, I’m close to having the character sketches done. In fact, I am hoping to have them done today or tomorrow at the latest. I only have two to do for this novel and the first is done and the second is around the second is around the halfway point. Although, I’m beginning to wonder if I am being too ambitious about that outline goal. We’ll see in the next week.

Writing Reflections:

This past week has been very busy, and I’m learning about myself where writing is concerned. I need to find balance. I need to find dedicated time to work on writing, and I really need to prioritize it. There are a number of articles out there about making time to write, but when it comes to practicing that, it is a challenge, isn’t it? I’m getting better about at least spending some time doing it daily and spending time to learn more about writing. But my time spent is not always as productive as it could be.

In light of all that, here are 3 Ways to Add Meaningful Structure to Your Writing Life.

 

What are your writing goals for the month?

Leave a Reply

