Journal

Writing on Wednesday (July 29, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

 

This past week has been quite productive on the writing front. While I haven’t gotten as much accomplished as I had initally hoped, I’ve been noticing that a wonderful pattern of daily writing (at least tasks related to writing– plotting type tasks) has emerged. It feels good to know that every day for the past couple of weeks, I’ve been making progress.

My Writing Goals for the Month of July:

By the end of the month, I would like to:

  • By July 12: Finish writing the final 12 scenes of my rough draft.
  • By July 15 July 22: Have my character sketches completed for a new story.
  • By July 22 July 29 July 31: Have an outline for a new novel in place.

How am I doing?

I finally finished off those character profiles yesterday. It was nice to see those get wrapped up. Unfortunately, that has not left me with quite as much time to do some plotting work and start forming my outline for the novel. The formal outline has officially been started and I have a really good start. I plan to keep working at that this week, and we’ll see if I can get that finished off by Friday or at least around there. Then I’ll be back to actual writing days again. How exciting!

Writing Reflections:

 

I received this article in my e-mail this morning. I found it to be a wonderful reminder on how important it is to give our characters some sort of emotional wound. It is that pieces of their history that really helps the character come off the page. Even in reality, we all have emotional wounds, even if they have scarred over by now. But that intial wound still impacts who we are, who we trust, why we do the things we do. It might lend us an air of caution or make us risk takers, both in our relationships and our actions. But regardless of what we do with our own wounds, our characters still need to have them.

Why Is Your Character’s Emotional Wound So Important? 

What are your writing goals for the month?

7 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (July 29, 2015)

  1. Well done on finishing the character profiles! And well done on establishing a routine, too – I’m still working on establishing mine but I’m trying to fit a lot into a day! Now good luck on getting that new outline for that new novel 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m not a routine person so it’s hard to get into habits of doing certain things. But, somehow it’s just become quite natural for me to migrate to my desk in the morning and work. It’s been wonderful! I’ve learned that connecting tasks can help establish those routines. For example, I usually eat my breakfast at my desk and check e-mails and such while I do that and I typically finish both around the same time and makes a natural point to move into diving into my writing tasks for the day.

      Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Then it’s even better that you’ve managed to establish a routine, and maybe it’s a good sign! I start my days in exactly the same way – check emails and catch up with some things over breakfast, then start writing!

        Like

      2. It really does, and you notice the difference if you do it differently, too.
        I’m working on my first book ‘Rise of the Sparrows’ – it’s a fantasy story and my blog follows its progress. It’s going well so far 🙂

        Like

      3. It is good to mix things up a little sometimes, too much of the same every day is going to become counter-productive very quickly I think. It’s good to have a routine, but being flexible is also helpful.
        Thank you, it’s been lovely meeting you! I’m looking forward to more chats in the future 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

