Book Review · Journal

July Wrap-Up

July Wrap-Up

I can’t believe that we have reached the last day of July! Where has the month gone? My month has been filled with writing related tasks, gardening, trips to the lake, and reading whenever I could fit it in. It has been helpful that I read so many novella collections this month. They are great for reading in small snippets here and there.

What I Have Read: Clicking on the following links will take you to my reviews.

It has certainly been an interesting month with a bit of variety in my reading material. So here are the highlights:

The Cactus Creek Challenge was definitely one of my favorite books this month. The book offered humor and some great lessons. The characters were complex, fun, and relatable. This was the first novel by Erica Vetsch I’ve read and I’m definitley planning to pick up more by her in the future.

I really enjoyed Sarah E. Ladd’s latest novel, The Curiosity Keeper. I found it to be beautifully written and complex. The book offers the perfect amount of romance to keep it sweet and a mystery that keeps it intriguing. It was an all around wonderful read.

So far, Melissa Jagears has put out some wonderful novels, and her newest release, A Bride At Last, is my favorite. Once I started this book, I had a really hard time putting it down. And even better, the book was constantly going in a direction that was quite different than I thought it would. Any time I thought I had it figured out, I was wrong. That is something I can certainly appreciate in a book.

What I Am Looking Forward To:

Sarah Sundin had me hooked as a fan with the first page of her first book. She’s one of the few authors that I eagerly anticipate her new novels. Through Waters Deep is pretty high on my list of books to read this month. In fact, I’m surprised that since I’ve had my copy for a little over a week now, I haven’t cracked it open yet. But it will be soon!

I love it when books take an unexpected route and that is what Seaside Gifts by Gayle Roper suggests that it might do with the odd mystery presented in it’s synopsis. This book certainly has me intrigued and I can’t wait to dive into this story.

I don’t read too many secular novels, but The Mapmaker’s Children by Sarah McCoy has caught my eye. I’ve seen the book mentioned in a few places, and the story about John Brown’s daughter and her work for the underground railroad intrigues me. This is another book I’m looking forward to quite a bit!

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site, I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I will be regularly send out tweets for new Blog Reviews and the occasional giveaway either on my blog or on another blog.

What I Wrote:

July has been a fantastic month on the writing front. I finished the novel/novella I was working on, set that aside, and began laying the groundwork for another novel. I’ve got my idea laid out, character sketches completed and I’m well on my way to having an outline created. Most of the beginning scenes have been decided on, and I’m hoping that this coming week, I’ll begin writing while continuing to work on the outline. I’m really excited to start moving this story form my imagination and onto the page.

I also signed up to attend my first writing conference. The conference isn’t until the early part of October, but it is one of those things that really makes me think, “I’m really doing this. I’m really a writer.” Even when I spend part of my day nearly everyday telling a story or thinking about characters and plots, it doesn’t always feel like I’m a writer. But this makes it feel a bit more real and I’m also excited to share some of the things I learn with all of you.

Leave a Reply

