Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (August 19, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

I realized something this week: I’m probably not going to meet my goals for the month. I’m okay with that fact, because I understand the why behind it, but it still doesn’t remove the sense of discouragement from it. I’m not concerned about changing them either. You see, it is canning scene (and I love to can!). It takes up a lot of my time when vegetables from the garden are ripening. I can’t control when it starts so I have to adjust my own time. In this instance, writing will probably get moved down on the priority list for a month or so. I plan to still write, but I won’t be as bound by my goals.

My Writing Goals for the Month of August:

 

This month I would like to:

  • Write 500 words a day on the historical novel. (Total of 9,000 words).
  • Continue to develop the outline for the historical novel.
  • Come up with a title.

Writing Help:

Last week I asked a question: “What reasons would either of them have for wanting to follow through on this high school promise?

I’ve received a handful of responses from my blog as well as on another writing forum. There were a whole range of reasons from insurance to family pressures to loneliness. I appreciate all of the thoughts! There is an idea that has started taking shape about this scenario and I’m getting quite excited about it. If I can squeeze in the time, I’m hoping to write up a summary of the story that the question pertains to and will share it next week. Then you’ll know what reasons my characters have for entering into a marriage of convenience of sorts 😉

What are your writing goals for the month?

3 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (August 19, 2015)

Leave a Reply

