Journal

Georgia on Her Mind by Rachel Hauck

When I find authors that I really enjoy, I often like to read some of their older work. Sometimes you find novels that you really enjoy and other times you can be thankful for how much they have improved. Sometimes it is a bit of both. That’s how I felt with this novel by Rachel Hauck. I’ve only read her Royal series and the novella she wrote for Zondervan’s Year of Weddings collection and I’ve loved them. I was ready to try something else by her. I certainly didn’t like the novel quite as much as the Royal series, but it definitely held some promise in the pages.

**This is a novel from my personal collection. I am not being compensated for this review**

On a sunny Monday morning, Macy Moore was on the fast track to success. By noon, all of her dreams were derailed.

Macy Moore skedaddled from her hometown of Beauty, Georgia to Florida in order to make her own way in the world. Successful and happy, she couldn’t be more proud of her corporate executive job, her just-perfect boyfriend and her beach side condo. But it all falls apart when reads the first email of the day. She’s demoted to the lowest rung on the corporate ladder . . . and dumped! She goes from being “someone” to a being “nobody,” all on the eve of returning home to emcee her high school reunion.

Thank goodness for the “Single Saved Sisters.” With loyal friends Lucy, Adriane and Tamara by her side, Macy retreats to the House of Joe for coffee, consolation and heart-to-heart consultation. Can they help her put her life back together? Yet it’s when her former heartthrob, Dylan, shows up on her doorstep, that Macy begins to realize that leaving Beauty, Georgia took her away from everything in life she really loved.

“Ah, that’s what faith is all about. You must see with the eyes of your heart. You can’t see the wind, you can’t see love, but you know those things are real.”

-Macy Moore, Georgia On Her Mind

Characters: I had a love/hate relationship with Macy Moore in this novel. Since the book is told in first person POV (Macy’s) we are in her head a lot. I loved getting to know her through the references she would make to things and her quick wit. What I didn’t enjoy was it felt like she whined…and whined…and then whined some more, a lot. Sometimes I got so frustrated with her and just wanted to tell her to buck up. I also felt like she ignored the advice she was given… a lot. But between all that whining, there was a girl who was really trying to figure out what she was supposed to do with her life. That was the girl that I found to like and I could connect with.

Storyline: I enjoyed the story of this book because it was so relatable. We often find ourselves asking what is next, either because we want a change or we are forced into change. I loved how this novel captured Macy at this crossroads and forced her to assess her priorities. What I wish was that we saw some of those changes to her priorities occurring.

My Thoughts:  I liked this book, but I didn’t love it. I think it was a bit long for the story that was there. As a novella, I think it would have been fantastic. As I said, I often found myself annoyed with the main character and that made it difficult to want to keep going. But I found enough to like in her to care about what happened to her and that kept me reading the story. I was happy with how it ended, but would have liked to see a bit more change in her character.

About the Author:

Rachel Hauck is an award-winning, best selling author of critically acclaimed novels such as The Wedding Dress, Love Starts with Elle, and Once Upon A Prince.

She also penned the Songbird Novels with multi-platinum recording artist, Sara Evans. Booklist named their novel, Softly and Tenderly, one of 2011 Top Ten Inspirationals.

A graduate of Ohio State University with a degree in Journalism, Rachel worked in the corporate software world before planting her backside in an uncomfortable chair to write full-time in 2004.

She serves on the Executive Board for American Christian Fiction Writers and leads worship at their annual conference. She is a mentor and book therapist at My Book Therapy, and conference speaker.

Rachel lives in central Florida with her husband and pets, and writes from her two-story tower in an exceedingly more comfy chair. She is a huge Buckeyes football fan.

 

4 thoughts on “Georgia on Her Mind by Rachel Hauck

  1. WOW!!! What a great and well-written review! Even though you briefly mentioned some things you did not like about the book, you made me want to read it. I appreciate, too, that you also voiced your reasons for wanting to know more about the main character. Being an author myself, I have to admit that you had me chuckling about Macy whining and whining and whining some more and a lot. I say this because in my very first published novel, a few readers also said this about my main female character, and it was evidently very irritating to them. Some may not have finished reading it because of that, and others who did said they were glad they did because they really enjoyed the story. Another review said my characters were one-dimensional and that they would have liked to have gotten to know them better. Although I was disappointed about the negative tones in the reviews, I totally understood where they were coming from. I once read something that someone said, and it was something similar to this: “Books have the power to annoy and irritate readers.” And I think that is so true because writers must bring life to their characters, and in real life, there are certainly some people who annoy and irritate us. Some, we love; some, we may not. Even people we are close to in real life and love dearly can sometimes do and say things that get on our last nerve, and vice versa. Anyway, when I see a negative review, I have learned to try not to take it so personally, regardless of whether or not it’s constructive (as I certainly feel that your review of this particular book is.) I now try to take the negative things my readers say and use them as learning tools to help me to become a better writer. And I must also admit that I have learned a lot from my readers. I want to know what they like and what they don’t like. I hope they will be kind about what they don’t like (as you were), but even if they’re not, I must accept it and move on. However, I want them to also remember that I may not always write my stories exactly as they want me to. Whereas, some of them may not care for certain aspects, others will. I have even found this to be true in my own personal preferences of reading material. I have read many books that some readers had given very bad reviews, yet I, along with many others, thoroughly enjoyed them. And even when I do come across certain aspects I do not enjoy, I try to season my reviews with salt so as not to tear down the books or the writers. Thank you so much for giving us your honest opinion without tearing down the book or its author. I look forward to reading more from you. Have an awesome day! 🙂

    Like

    1. Aww, Thanks for all of the lovely words about this review! If I had it my way, I would never have to write the negative ones–but that is part of the point of reviewing books 😉 But when and if I do, I chalk it up to a learning experience (both to the author, and to myself, because I also write and can learn from others “mistakes”).

      “Books have the power to annoy and irritate readers.”– What a wonderful quote! And quite true and worthy to keep in mind.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

      1. You’re welcome! Very good point you made about it being a learning experience both to the author and to yourself. Yesterday, an author friend of mine made another very interesting comment about writing: “Writing is a continuous learning experience. One can be seasoned, but one never graduates in the field of writing.” Thank you for responding to my comments, and thanks again for your great review! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

