Journal

August Wrap-Up

August Wrap-Up

Sorry this is a bit late…

It’s hard to think that the leaves are starting to change and kids are heading back to school. Where has the year gone? But with fall, comes some lovely reading days– curled up with a blanket and a hot beverage, and that is something I am looking forward to!

What I Have Read: Clicking on the following links will take you to my reviews.

I love these months when I have such a hard time selecting favorite books. But, while most of the books that I read were overall fantastic, there were certainly a few that did in fact stand out. Oddly enough, the three I’m choosing to highlight all have a bit of mystery and intrigue to them…

Not By Sight was a surprising novel for me. I knew what it was about, but the story was just utterly fantastic. It felt like a blend of mystery and fairytale set against WWII. The plot felt unique and fresh and the same can be said for the characters. This is a book that should definitely be added to your list of books to read.

Probably any new book of Sarah Sundin’s will always make it to my list of favorites, and her latest, Through Waters Deep is no exception. I loved this novel set in Boston. Even more surprising was the element of mystery that kept the plot exciting and interesting.

How often do people call the cops because of “leavery”? Well, that’s what happens in Seaside Gifts by Gayle Roper. The book is filled with an interesting plot, a mysterious “leaver,” and a sweet love story. This book completely took me by surprise and I enjoyed every page turn and was quite sad to finish it–though I loved the ending!

What I Am Looking Forward To:

Lisa Wingate is a unique voice in Christian Fiction. Her storytelling abilities captures a slower pace of life and is just relaxing. I’m excited to have an oppertunity to visit The Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina and Roanoke Island in this seaside story. It will be a lovely escape to a different world and the story will be filled with lessons and wonderful characters along the way.

I was a bit giddy to open my mailbox and find Laura Frantz’s most recent book. The Mistress of Tall Acre is sure to be a brilliant story like all of her previous books–especially if the cover is any hint to the story within the pages.

The Lost Heiress by Roseanna M. White promises to be a fascinating book filled with mystery and romance. In many ways, the story remains me a bit of the supposedly missing princess, Anastasia, but rather set in Edwardian England. I’m excited to start this book and uncover the intrigue that it promises.

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site, I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I will be regularly send out tweets for new Blog Reviews and the occasional giveaway either on my blog or on another blog.

What I Wrote:

 

Sadly, August has not had much time for writing. But, I’ve been focusing on canning and reading. It makes a nice break away from my writing desk and gives me time to allow ideas to percolate. Hopefull in the next month, I’ll have a bit more time at my desk and more to share.

2 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

