Journal

Writing on Wednesday (September 2, 2015)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

Sometimes I feel like an oxymoron. I claim to dislike routines, but I’ve learned that routines can be beneficial. I’m growing to love them I guess. If I link a few things together I’m more apt to consistently follow through with them. And writing is one of those things. I enjoy it, but without a schedule and “usual” time to sit at my desk, it goes by the wayside.

August and September are a couple of months that I’m learning to accept that I don’t write as much as I would like or even should. I spend a lot of time in the garden and harvesting the produce. Then a lot of time is spent canning it–which is a lot of work. While I enjoy thinking through story ideas and plotting, the eagerness to sit down and write isn’t as appealing. So, I unexpected took the month of August off from writing and I’m doing the same for September. I’m sure I will still spend some time at my desk, but I’m keeping the pressure off. Hopefully I’ll be ready to come back at the beginning of October and be ready to knock out some wonderful days filled with high word counts.

The Writing on Wednesday posts might be a bit different for the rest of this month. Perhaps I’ll share some of the writing books I have on my resource shelf or other helpful things I’ve found.

 

What are your writing goals for the month?

Leave a Reply

