Journal

The Seakeeper’s Daughters by Lisa Wingate

From modern-day Roanoke Island to the sweeping backdrop of North Carolina’s Blue Ridge Mountains and Roosevelt’s WPA folklore writers, past and present intertwine to create an unexpected destiny.

Restaurant owner Whitney Monroe is desperate to save her business from a hostile takeover. The inheritance of a decaying Gilded Age hotel on North Carolina’s Outer Banks may provide just the ray of hope she needs. But things at the Excelsior are more complicated than they seem. Whitney’s estranged stepfather is entrenched on the third floor, and the downstairs tenants are determined to save the historic building. Searching through years of stored family heirlooms may be Whitney’s only hope of quick cash, but will the discovery of an old necklace and a Depression-era love story change everything?

**I received a copy of this book from The Tyndale Blogging Network in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

I was blown away by the story within this book– to the point of not really knowing what to say about it, but I’ll give it my best shot.

The Seakeeper’s Daughters is a story that transports readers to the Outer Banks as well as the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. The story is set during present day, but the discovery of letters tells another tale set during the depression era.

One of the first things that drew me into this story was the complicated life the main character, Whitney, leads. I found myself relating to her in so many ways. She liked to be in control and have things go according to plan. But as a good story should, everything in this book seemed to work against her. Once she starts to slow down a bit and see what her history has to offer, she learns a lot.

I found this book to be beautifully written, poignant, and full of nuggets of wisdom. It is a book that is meant to be savored and enjoyed–and I certainly did both!

“If you could know–if you could always know–when the lasts in life are coming, you’d handle them differently. You’d savor. You’d stop. You’d let nothing else invade the moment.”

-The Seakeeper’s Daughters

 

About the Author:

Selected among Booklist’s Top 10 for two consecutive years, Lisa Wingate skillfully weaves lyrical writing and unforgettable settings with elements of traditional Southern storytelling, history, and mystery to create novels that Publisher’s Weekly calls “Masterful” and Library Journal refers to as “A good option for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Mary Alice Monroe.”

Lisa is a journalist, an inspirational speaker, and the author of twenty-five novels. She is a seven-time ACFW Carol Award nominee, a multiple Christy Award nominee, a two-time Carol Award winner, and a 2015 RT Booklovers Magazine Reviewer’s Choice Award Winner for mystery/suspense. Recently, the group Americans for More Civility, a kindness watchdog organization, selected Lisa along with Bill Ford, Camille Cosby, and six others as recipients of the National Civies Award, which celebrates public figures who work to promote greater kindness and civility in American life. Booklist summed up her work by saying, “Lisa Wingate is, quite simply, a master storyteller.” More information about her novels can be found at http://www.lisawingate.com.

Advertisements

One thought on “The Seakeeper’s Daughters by Lisa Wingate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s