Journal

My Brother’s Crown

France, 1685. Catherine Gillet knows her brother, Jules, wants to protect her from the sinister threats of the French crown. But Jules is involved in a potentially deadly enterprise, one connected with an encoded document. When his actions put the whole family at risk, will Catherine find a way to save them?

Virginia, present day. Renee Talbot, a direct descendant of Catherine’s, is fascinated by the document that’s been part of her family legacy for more than three centuries. Certain its pages hold hidden secrets, she takes a closer look–and makes a shocking discovery. But when memories of a childhood trauma are rekindled, she’s forced to seek answers of a different kind. Inspired by the faith and bravery of Catherine, can Renee find the truth and face her deepest fears at last?

From the authors of the Christy Award-winning The Amish Midwife comes an epic story of two women, centuries apart, each discovering her own hidden bravery, standing for what she believes in, and finding love in unexpected places.

**I received a copy of this book from Harvest House and NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

My Brother’s Crown is a beautiful story weaving together a modern story and a treacherous time in history for Christians.

I found this novel to be fascinating. It was a slower read as I took the time to savor what was going on. The historical storyline is rich, with both the setting and the characters. Set in France during the reign Louis XIV (The Sun King), My Brother’s Crown follows the Gillet family. They are Huguenots in a country where they are no longer welcome. The novel is tense as churches are being burned and families are escaping.

The modern storyline has a bit more romance and a dark mystery. Again, this story was one that easily kept my interest as I wanted to know what happened one fateful day in the lives of a small group of cousins.

I found this book to be unique in both setting and story. The historical and modern stories complimented one another perfectly and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It appears that this is the first book of a series, and I am anxious to see what happens next!

“We are the Lord’s temple, Catherine, not some building.”

-Grand-Mère, My Brother’s Crown

Please click here to visit Amazon’s page for this book to learn more.
2 thoughts on “My Brother’s Crown

Leave a Reply

