Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (October 7)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

 

It is turning out to be a busy week. I’ve been trying to work on plotting out The Marriage Pact so it will be ready to go when NaNoWriMo hits as well as trying to get things around for the writers conference this weekend.

It amazes me how fraudulant I feel about going to this conference. While I do spend a large portion of my time writing (or with writing related tasks: learning, plotting, etc.), it doesn’t always make me feel like a writer. When I talk to acquaintences, it isn’t as big of a deal because I probably spend more time writing than them. But the event I’m walking into will be filled with people at all stages, and it makes me feel a bit, well, inadequate.

The point is, that I have to remind myself of my goals. That attending this first conference is a step in the right direction. Perhaps I’ll expand my writing network. Maybe I’ll meet someone that might help me with my future publication goals down the road. Or maybe it will be just making another writer friend. I need to remind myself to be open to whatever God has planned for me in attending this conference.

My Writing Goals for the month of October:

My October writing goal is to finish plotting out The Marriage Pact and work on the development of the characters in it.

How have I been doing?

Act I has been completely outlined, and I’m pretty happy with it. There may be a scene here or there that is missing, but I’m content with where it is at. I’ve been working on brainstorming scenes for Act II, and have probably about a quarter of them in mind. I’ll be working on trying to get them into some sort of order and hopefully seeing some gaps will help more scenes come to mind before formally outlining it.

 

 

Have you been to a writers conference? What did you do to prepare?

2 thoughts on “Writing on Wednesday (October 7)

  1. I think it’s interesting that you feel inadequate. The truth is, I think most authors would feel that way. I know I did for a long time. The thing is, we’ve set up the standards of what a REAL writer is that we’ve often times excluded ourselves. Lol
    When I began meeting other published authors, I remember feeling inadequate because I was an Indie Author.
    I had to rediscover what it means to be a writer. A writer is a person that is specially gifted with words. A writer is someone that feels at home when they’re fingers are dancing across the keyboard. A writer is someone who feels completely comfortable sitting alone for hours at a time talking to someone who doesn’t even exist. A writer is someone with ideas that won’t be quiet. A writer is someone who writes. Publication is not necessary. Awards are not needed.
    I hope you have a great time at your first conference. I love the goals you’ve decided to focus on for this conference. I’ve no doubt God will do something wonderful here for you that will be a stepping stone to where you need to be.

    Like

    1. I think there are just so many stages to being a “writer” and when you aren’t yet pursuing publication you feel a bit on the outside looking in. There’s a lot of that feeling in it.

      Thanks for the encouragement. Overall, I am looking forward to the conference.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

