Journal

Writing on Wednesday- Give Yourself Some Grace

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

What I Learned from my First Writing Conference

It’s been a couple of weeks since I attended my first writer’s conference. The experience was amazing on so many levels. Wherever you are on your writing path, I highly recommend attending one if you have the opportunity.

There are so many things that I’ve learned at this conference, and I wish I could share every single detail with you. But that might make for a handful of boring posts. So rather, I’m going to try to combine things into some posts, that I hope you will find not only helpful, but encouraging. All of these are topics that seemed to continuously pop up in various sessions, whether a workshop or plenary session. These are some of the ideas that I was blessed to walk away with and hope to keep in mind as I continue on my own writing journey. I plan to focus on one of these for each of the next 5 Wednesdays. I’m so excited to share them with you.

Give Yourself Some Grace

It can be so hard to turn off that inner-editor. It’s probably one of the biggest struggles I have when I sit down to write. This need to have every sentence, and even every word, to be the prefect choice. But, when it comes to writing, we don’t have time for perfection. Especially when it is that first draft.

Seasoned writers will be the first to tell you that the first draft won’t be perfect. The second won’t be either. And you know what? The tenth or fifteenth will still have flaws. One of the authors at the conferences stated that fifty drafts is what it takes for him to get the story about right. Fifty. And he’s written a handful of books.

Think of all the meanings the word grace has. Often we equate grace with forgiveness. We use the word grace to define a period of time we give someone to pay a debt without adding more to it. In writing, we need to allow room to give ourselves some grace. It’s important to know that we won’t get it right the first time, or the fiftieth time.

Remember that things won’t always come out right the first time—whether it is the plot, a character trait, the voice of the narrative, or even the draft as a whole. It might not come out right the next time or the time after that. But that’s okay. Give yourself some grace.

What are some of your writing struggles that you can give yourself a bit of grace on?

Leave a Reply

