Journal

Writing on Wednesday- Creativity Takes Effort

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

What I Learned from my First Writing Conference

It’s been a couple of weeks since I attended my first writer’s conference. The experience was amazing on so many levels. Wherever you are on your writing path, I highly recommend attending one if you have the opportunity.Week1ThanksGiveAway

There are so many things that I’ve learned at this conference, and I wish I could share every single detail with you. But that might make for a handful of boring posts. So rather, I’m going to try to combine things into some posts, that I hope you will find not only helpful, but encouraging. All of these are topics that seemed to continuously pop up in various sessions, whether a workshop or plenary session. These are some of the ideas that I was blessed to walk away with and hope to keep in mind as I continue on my own writing journey. I plan to focus on one of these for each of the next 5 Wednesdays. I’m so excited to share them with you.

Creativity Takes Effort

One of my favorite sessions from the writer’s conference centered around creative emergence. This idea that if you have a talent for something, put work into it, something will emerge. In my case, it’s writing, plus a certain amount of work, and a novel will emerge.

It’s a simple idea, but it can be a challenge to implement. For many writing is just that. Writing. Of course practice makes perfect and all of that. But, sometimes, we have to be deliberate. We have to be intentional. It doesn’t just happen.

It takes effort to know when we come up with our best ideas. Even more effort to remember to write them down. It takes some initiative to say “no” to some things so we can take the time to learn our craft better and to improve it. It’s also work to figure out when we write best or what atmosphere we need, and then implement those things. Maybe you aren’t much for getting up early, but those morning hours are when you work best. It takes a bit of effort to commit to that.

Creativity takes effort. Sure we can be blessed with talents, but like the parable, it’s what we do with it that matters. We can bury it or we can invest it, grow it. Improve upon it. And that will take effort and work. It isn’t easy.

Ultimately, it is a choice on what we decide to do with the gifts we have been given. It’s up to us to learn how to best use them. There may be risk and it may be challenging. But if we invest in it, if we put the effort in, if we choose to say yes to our talents and no to the hindrances, something will come from it.

Leave a Reply

