Book Review · Journal

November Wrap-Up

November Wrap-up

The holiday season is finally here! And a few Christmas stories have even begun to show up in my reading. I do love this time of year. While I keep wishing for a bit of snow to cover the ground, it’s the perfect weather for curling up and reading–and since our tree is up now as well, the glow of Christmas lights is a wonderful additional touch!

What I Have Read: Clicking on the following links will take you to my reviews.

Whispers in the Reading Room was such a unique story. I loved every page of it. It’s one of those stories that you really can just immerse yourself in. The love story is wonderful and the mystery is quite engaging!

A Respectable Actress by Dorothy Love kind of caught me by surprise. The book starts out in a very tense moment. But then the plot twists and turns and with so many things that are unexpected popping up, I had no clue how the book would end, and I refused to put it down until I reached that final page.

The Heirlooms Bride Collection was a wonderful collection of stories. Each one focused on a part of the wedding rhyme: Something old, something new; something borrowed and something blue. They stories were all so sweet. I loved it!

What I Am Looking Forward To:

I’m still working through organizing my list of books to review in December and scheduling them out. But, there are a couple of books that are on my list that I am quite excited for:

I don’t read a lot of nonfiction books, but now and again, one comes up that sounds wonderful. That’s the case with Brave Enough. The book is written to women and is a challenge for them to change or to take hold of the plan that God has for you. It sounds like a wonderful read with a lot of good lessons in it.

Moving to the fiction side of things, I’m also excited to start reading Carrie Turansky’s Refuge of Highland Hall. I’ve enjoyed her series of books set in Highland Hall so far, and I can’t wait to read about the characters in this book and watch their lives unfold.

Feel free to check out my GoodReads site, I frequently keep it updated with the books that I am going to be reviewing. You can also follow me on Twitter– I will be regularly send out tweets for new Blog Reviews and the occasional giveaway either on my blog or on another blog.

What I Wrote:

I had such wonderful intentions of winning NaNoWriMo this year and having a solid start to my new novel, The Marriage Pact. I started the month out strong. I had a few solid writing days. But then, well, life eventually happened.

November and December are such difficult writing months. There are so many things vying for my attention, and I’m sure many others have the same struggle. But I have concluded a few things:

  1. At this point in my life, writing is a hobby. Someday it may be more, but for now, that is what it is. I enjoy writing and don’t plan to stop. Plans to pursue publication are still there.
  2. Family and friends are still high on my priority list. And they are above writing. So family gatherings or spending quality time with them is something that I find to be important. For this season in my writing journey, I’m okay with saying “no” to my laptop or writing and saying “yes” to spending time with them. I have plenty of time to continue making progress.
  3. I still need to work on having good writing habits. Earlier in the month, I had some massive writing days. It was wonderful and it felt good. But I also felt burnt out afterwards and it wasn’t always quite as conducive to the following writing days. I need to set a goal, and just stay consistent with it. I need to be the turtle and not the rabbit.
Leave a Reply

