Book Review

Rising Darkness

Sophie Wittenbauer left her strict Mennonite hometown under a cloud of shame and regret. Certain she’s left her past far behind her, she’s now focused on her job at a newspaper and is shocked when she stumbles upon the name of someone she knew in her old life. But when she learns the man–a prisoner–claims a suspect from a decades-old unsolved crime is hiding out in the small town of Sanctuary, Missouri, she can’t resist following the lead in hopes of furthering her career.

Almost immediately upon her arrival, Sophie’s confronted with a face from her past and fears her intention of using a false identity to investigate is doomed. But with the help of Sanctuary’s charismatic young pastor, Sophie knows she’s getting close. Will she be able to conceal the truth of her own past long enough to find the suspect before someone puts a stop–fatal or otherwise–to her investigation?

**I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

While this novel took a little bit longer to draw me in, once I was hooked, I had a hard time putting it down. This novel is filled with tension, fabulous characters, and strong themes.

The first few chapters of this book dragged a bit for me. To be honest, I really didn’t love the main character. I couldn’t relate to her, and I just didn’t like her. But, a number of the secondary characters I began to be interested in. Finally, as clues started popping up about a mystery that Sophie was trying to solve, I found myself drawn deeper into this story.

This story is filled with great themes about identities and overcoming our pasts. There are fascinating connections between characters and we even see a glimpse of the lives of characters met in the previous two Finding Sanctuary novels. Overall, I did really enjoy this book and would reccommend it to those who like a bit of mystery in their stories.

If you have not read the other two books in the series, I think you could jump into this one just fine. While previous characters are in fact mentioned, I don’t think there is anything that would spoil the previous two stories or make this one harder to get into.

About the Author:

Nancy Mehl lives in Festus, Missouri with her husband Norman and her very active puggle, Watson. She’s authored over twenty-one books and is currently at work on her newest series for Bethany House Publishing.

All of Nancy’s novels have an added touch – something for your spirit as well as your soul. “I welcome the opportunity to share my faith through my writing,” Nancy says. “God is number one in my life. I wouldn’t be writing at all if I didn’t believe that this is what He’s called me to do. I hope everyone who reads my books will walk away with the most important message I can give them: God is good, and He loves you more than you can imagine. He has a good plan for your life, and there is nothing you can’t overcome with His help.”

2 thoughts on “Rising Darkness

Leave a Reply

