Book Review

Without a Trace by Colleen Coble

I’ve lived in Michigan my whole life, but I’ve only been up to the Upper Peninsula a handful of times. What I can remember most about those visits are a couple of things. First of all, the picturesque beauty of the area. You can drive quite some time without seeing a building anywhere. Surrounded by so much forest. The second is that feeling of isolation and seclusion, especially when you move further away from one of the few more populated areas. The area lends itself nicely to a good mystery and I was excited to find an author who also noticed that and wrote one.

**This is a novel from my personal collection. I am not being compensated for this review**

When a plane carrying Bree Nicholls’ husband and son disappears, her life changes forever. Her relentless determination to find them starts an investigation that links their disappearance to a violent crime threatening to tear the peaceful town of Rock Harbor apart.

Mystery fans will love this exciting new series from best-selling author Colleen Coble. Set in the untamed beauty of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula, the Rock Harbor Series is full of suspense and romance, drawing you into the life and operation of a canine search-and-rescue team as it unravels the secrets of an enchanting wilderness.

“So be yourself, speak your mind, be your own person. God created you for a purpose.”

-Naomi Heinonen, Without a Trace

Characters: Right away when reading this book I was overwhelmed with the number of characters in this story. There were a few who turned out to be quite important later, but I feel like I was introduced to every single one in the first few pages. It made it hard to get into and I found myself flipping to the synopsis to remind myself who the main character was. However, once I moved into the story quite aways and I could clearly remember who was who, I loved getting to know Bree. She was a fascinating character caught between believing lies, wanting to be liked, and trying to be her own person.

Storyline: This is where the novel hooked me. Right away, the novel jumps into a search for two missing kids. It was fascinating reading about Bree and her friend Naomi searching with their dogs. Soon there is what appears to be a murder and things only pick up from there.

My Thoughts:   I really enjoyed this book. I found the setting and storyline to be unique (and I love stories written in my home state). My only complaint goes back to being introduced to so many characters so quickly. Having finished the novel, I understand why- nearly all of them are quite relevant to the plot and are necessary. I look forward to reading the other books of this series in the future.

About the Author:

USAToday bestselling author Colleen Coble lives with her husband, Dave, in Indiana. She is the author of dozens of novels including the Rock Harbor Series, the Aloha Reef Series, the Mercy Falls Series, the Hope Beach Series, the Lonestar Series and two Women of Faith fiction selections, Alaska Twilight and Midnight Sea. She has more than 2 million books in print.

 

4 thoughts on “Without a Trace by Colleen Coble

  1. Thank-you for your review. With a summer home in the UP of Michigan and Colleen Coble as a favorite author of mine, I must add this to my ever-growing TBR list…perhaps I even need to move it up a bit on that long list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

