Journal · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (January 6, 2016)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

I hope all of you have had a wonderful start to the new year already! I sure have. It’s been filled with getting together with family, doing a few house projects, and establishing some goals for the year.

Every year, my husband and I set a handful of SMART goals for ourselves. If you’ve never heard of this, I suggest you Google it or you can just read more about them HERE. For myself, I set a a number of them that are goals about being better at managing our household, exercising, or other habits that I want to develop. But, they are also helpful when it comes to writing.

This year, I am hoping to finish the rough draft of The Marriage Pact and perhaps get a get jump on a second novel. That one will either be moving back to historical fiction or a sequel to The Marriage Pact. I’m a bit undecided as to which it will be at the present moment. And, if I finish The Marriage Pact, I will be attending the Breathe Conference again this year.

In order to make meet my goals, I am planning to write 5,000 words a week through the month of January (1,000 words each day Monday through Friday). I’m hoping to stick with it and meet those word counts.

So what about you? Did you make any New Year’s Resolutions or set some goals for yourself? Feel free to share them in the comments. Afterall, we’re probably more likely to stick with them if we share them with someone!

Leave a Reply

