Journal

Writing on Wednesday (January 13, 2016)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

This is one of those posts that I struggle to write. In fact, I’ve been putting it off. I decided to try a bit of a schedule with my Writing on Wednesday posts. The first week is a bit more of an update, and the second week, this week, is more reflective. The other weeks are a bit more resource based. And then it repeats in a new month. The nature of this post asks for a bit more honesty, and this week, that feels hard.

So often at the beginning of the year, we examine what we want to do better or we search for a way to define who we want to be in the coming year. It’s a fresh start and offers a clean slate. One tradition I’ve seen around is choosing a word. But, well, one word feels a bit too constraining for me. My personality is such that I jump around from idea to idea. But, I thought, there was no reason why I couldn’t settled on a word for the month. Something that I want to describe my choices for that month. Something that would make me a better writer, a better person, and a better child of God.

Late last year, there was a word that kept coming up. Excellence. But frankly, we are nearly halfway through January, and I don’t feel as if I have been very excellent. Excellence is “the quality of being outstanding or extremely good.” The things that I have been good at so far this month is making a daily to-do list, using the treadmill daily, cooking the majority of the meals for myself and my husband, and then I feel like the list falls short. There have been so much that I had hoped to do with excellence this month. Meeting regular writing goals. Really getting into a daily Bible study of some sort. Keeping up with the housework. They all make my to-do list, but rarely get crossed off. Distractions come up or things take longer than I expect. I can make any number of excuses.

But you know what? I’ve learned something. Excellence is not the same thing as perfection. If I did keep up with everything that I had hoped to, I would be working towards perfection. I would be doing things in fear of being a failure. But excellence does not require that. Excellence requires that I give it my best shot. That I make the effort to do a task well. Even more important is that I make choices that bring glory to God.

Some days, that might mean that writing goes by the wayside. Other days, maybe I’ll have to put off a cleaning task in light of something else that came up.

Ultimately, for me this month, I want my choices and actions to be described as excellent. And hopefully for the rest of this year and the following years. And the best way for me to do that, is to keep in mind, that I am serving God. So to keep that in mind, I’m focusing on Colossians 3:23 this month and will continue to give my best towards whatever task is before me.

“Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men”

Colossians 3:23

 

Leave a Reply

