Books on Writing · Journal · Resources · Writing on Wednesday

Writing on Wednesday (January 20, 2016)

Writing on Wednesday Badge

Writing on Wednesday is a way to keep this particular writer on track (I hope!). These are weekly posts/updates where I will share something from the past week of writing with the readers of this blog. Sometimes it might be something I’ve learned, found useful, or a bit of my own writing and ideas. I hope this will be a time of sharing, encouragement, and accountability. Join me in setting some writing goals to finish that project and celebrate each success.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *

 

Awhile ago, I decided that I needed to come up with a larger variety of focus for these Writing on Wednesday posts. I have a tendency to struggle with routines so it makes it difficult to always have something wonderful to update about where writing is concerned every Wednesday. So, I plan to only update on my actual progress about one Wednesday a month. But that meant I needed more material for the other weeks. One suggestion was to share what is on my writing shelf.

The little book I’m sharing today isn’t anything profound. But it is a wondeful quick reference tool.

The Writer’s Little Helper is meant to be just that. It is a book that if I am struggling with something while plotting or developing my characters I can just flip through. James V. Smith, Jr. includes templates on laying out your plot from ten key scenes (I actually use this template a lot when I’m developing my plot), suggestions for laying out character cards, tips on pacing, and even some grammar tips.

I don’t find this book to be the only great writing book out there, but it is one that I come to a lot while plotting and writing. It’s set-up is wonderful and with such colorful pages it is quite appealing. So, If you are looking for a quick tool that covers everything from plotting to revision, this might be a book to look into. For me, it’s a resource that I keep coming back to.

Check it out on Amazon. (Although there is a newer edition than the one I linked to, this is the version that I use.)

What book is on your writing shelf that you can’t write without?

 

One thought on “Writing on Wednesday (January 20, 2016)

Leave a Reply

