Journal

Cats in Paris: A Magical Coloring Book

This gorgeously illustrated adult coloring book draws readers into the secret world of cats in Paris as they explore the city’s most famous (and feline-friendly) spots.

Say bonjour to the cats of Paris as they slink through its fabled streets and alleyways, from Montmartre to the Shakespeare and Company bookshop and into a feline-filled land of playful imagination. Featuring intricate pen-and-ink drawings of tabbies, Persians, Siamese, and more, this evocative coloring book’s frisky kitties lie in wait for your colorful stylings.

**I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

 

3 Stars

IMG_2978Ever since adult coloring books started becoming popular, I was eager to jump on that bandwagon. My husband has to laugh at me because I can’t walk past them in the bookstores without flipping through them.

IMG_2980Overall, I find them to be such a fantastic way to relieve stress, clear my mind, or puzzle through whatever I’m writing. So, getting to review one seemed like a wonderful opportunity.

When I got the book, I had both a positive and negative reaction. Here is whIMG_2981at I loved: I just enjoyed flipping through the book. I can certainly recognize the art and talent that went into the drawings. There are some really fun pages that incorporate patterns with a picture of a cat. The beginning pictures feature very Parisian moments with a cat as your tour guide essentially, complete with cute little captions of what they are. There is a nice blend of more scene based images and some that are more patterns.

IMG_2979However, I also find that for me, I’ll struggle to think of how to color some of the pages. Some of the beginning ones, whiel very artistically drawn, they don’t have the clearly layed out lines that I like to color. For someone more interested in blending in their coloring books and such, I’m sure they’ll love it. But I prefer those crisp images where I know exactly what to color what and can just use a single color. I also found that some of the images are a bit boring. For example, there is a spread that just has paw prints repeated all over it.

I did color a bit in the book before writing my review. Colored pencils obviously will work fine and are probably even ideal for a number of the pictures. But, since the pictures are printed on both sides of the page, I was concerned with how coloring with markers would work. I tested my regular Crayola markers on a page, and there was no bleeding through the page.

Overall, there are more pages in this book that I didn’t care for than what I was excited to see. I did enjoy it to flip through and I found the book to have quality pages. It’s a book that I would reccommend flipping through before deciding to purchase to make sure it is the type of coloring book you would be looking for.

About the Artist:

Photo of Won-Sun JangWon-Sun Jang is an award-winning Korean illustrator whose work has appeared in Vogue Korea, Elle Korea, Bazaar Korea, and InStyle Korea, and clients include MAC Cosmetics and Clinique. Winner of the Children’s Books Illustration Award from Kemongsa Publishers, she currently works as a package designer in Seoul, Korea. Since meeting Eva the Norwegian Forest Cat fourteen years ago, she has fallen in love with cats and the inspiration they bring to her art.

3 thoughts on “Cats in Paris: A Magical Coloring Book

Leave a Reply

