Book Review

Undaunted Hope

Tessa Taylor arrives in 1870s Upper Peninsula, Michigan, planning to serve as a new teacher to the town. Much to her dismay, however, she immediately learns that there was a mistake, that the town had requested a male teacher. Percival Updegraff, superintendent and chief mine clerk, says she can stay through winter since they won’t be able to locate a new teacher before then, and Tessa can’t help but say she is in his debt. Little does she know that Percival will indeed keep track of all that she owes him.

Determined to become indispensable, Tessa throws herself into teaching, and soon the children of the widowed lighthouse keeper have decided she’s the right match for their grieving father. Their uncle and assistant light keeper, Alex Bjorklund, has his own feelings for Tessa. As the two brothers begin competing for her hand, Tessa increasingly feels that someone is tracking her every move, and she may not be able to escape the trap that has been laid for her.

**I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.**

5 Star

 

 

Immediately, Undaunted Hope swept me to Northern Michigan along the shores of Lake Superior by the Eagle Harbor Lighthouse, and I quickly grew to love the characters that I found there. Tessa, Alex, Michael, Ingrid and Gunnar were such fantastic individuals to spend some time getting to know in this novel about hope, selflessness, and conquering fears.

One of the things that drew me in initially in this story was the love triangle. It was one of those that I almost had no idea how it would work out and every outcome made me so sad for someone. I was invested in these characters and didn’t want to see any of them be hurt. But soon, the plot took over, and I was close to biting my nails because I was so nervous for characters. Then another big thing would happen and I just couldn’t put the book down.

Overall, I found this story to be an exquisite blend of fantastic characters, an unpredictable plot, a setting that began to feel like a character itself, and a wicked villain, all wrapped up in a book with hopefuly themes and solid truths. I enjoyed it, and might just have to say it might be my favorite novel by Jody Hedlund to date.

If you have read the previous novels in this series, you definitely won’t want to miss this one! But, if you haven’t read any of them, I would highly reccommend going back and starting with the first book (and even the prequel novella) before enjoying this one. This one follows closely on the heals of the previous book and also connects to the first book and the novella. While you could still enjoy this one on its own, you’ll appreciate it more with having read the other books.

“But the only way I am going to stop being afraid is by doing the things I don’t want to do.”

-Tessa Taylor, Undaunted Hope

About the Author:

Jody Hedlund is an award-winning and bestselling author of inspirational historical romances for both adults and teens.

As a busy mama-writer, she has the wonderful privilege of teaching her crew of 5 children at home. In between grading math papers and giving spelling tests, she occasionally does a load of laundry and washes dishes. When she’s not busy being a mama, you can find her in front of her laptop working on another of her page-turning stories.

She loves reading almost as much as she loves writing, especially when it also involves chocolate and coffee.

One thought on “Undaunted Hope

Leave a Reply

